Monday word of the week – exiguous

This week’s word is exiguous. I noted it when I was recently reading The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo. I didn’t write down the quote though. I keep forgetting that part. 🙂

From dictionary.com:

ex·ig·u·ous

/ɪgˈzɪgyuəs, ɪkˈsɪg-/  [ig-zig-yoo-uhs, ik-sig-]

adjective

scanty; meager; small; slender: exiguous income.

Origin: 1645–55;  < Latin exiguus  scanty in measure or number, small, equivalent to exig ( ere ) (see exigent) + -uus  deverbal adj. suffix

 

From scrabblefinder.com:

Exiguous is worth 16 points in Scrabble, and 19 points in Words with Friends

There are 8 letters in exiguous: E G I O S U U X

Another new word for you to use this week. I challenge you to sneak it into your conversation. 🙂

~Deb

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Monday word of the week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Monday word of the week – exiguous

  1. I like the sound of that word. It “feels” nice when spoken. 🙂 There are some words I love in that way, like “dowry”, it feels nice too. Crazy? 🙂

  2. Love this word. I agree with Sonja, it’s fun to say. And I can use it this very afternoon when I tell my students that an exiguous amount of homework was handed in!

  3. Pingback: Monday word of the week – Perfidious | lifeofdeb

  4. Pingback: Monday word of the week – Amanuensis | lifeofdeb

  5. Pingback: Never use a big word, when an exiguous word will do. | how we think, act and feel

Leave a Reply

