Monday Word of the Week – Abatis

Our word of the week is abatis. This is a word I ran across while reading a book this week, it was in a reference to war but it was difficult to figure out the meaning from the context. There just wan’t enough info provided. So I had to look it up. 🙂

1 Definition of Abatis

From Merriam-Webster Dictionary: The meaning of the word Abatis: : a defensive obstacle formed by felled trees with sharpened branches facing the enemy

Origin of abatis: French, from abattre to strike down, slaughter, from Old French abatre

First Known Use: 1766

 

From the Free On-line Dictionary:

an obstacle of felled trees (with trunk diameters of 15 cm or more) in a criss-cross pattern with their tops facing the enemy. Abatis were widely used as a foundation for building abatis lines along the frontiers of the Russian state in the 16th and 17th centuries.

In the 20th century abatis were used as obstacles against enemy infantry and cavalry. They were usually reinforced with barbed wire and mines and covered by fire.

abatis

abatis

I also found a site called scrabblefinder.com, which seems a great place to find new words. I decided I could use it occasionally for the word of the week to give you some points for scrabble and words with friends. I know people are always looking for new words to use.

Is abatis a scrabble word? Yes!

  • n. – A line of defense consisting of a barrier of felled or live trees with branches (sharpened or with barbed wire entwined) pointed toward the enemy

Abatis is worth 8 points in Scrabble, and 9 points in Words with Friends

There are 6 letters in abatis: A A B I S T

What other games are there that you use new and unusual words for?

I’m not sure how I will weave this into conversation this week. 🙂 How about you?

~Deb~

 

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Monday word of the week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday Word of the Week – Abatis

  1. Again, I learned something new. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Monday Word of the Week – Celerity | lifeofdeb

  3. Pingback: Monday word of the week – exiguous | lifeofdeb

  4. Pingback: Monday word of the week – Perfidious | lifeofdeb

  5. Pingback: Monday word of the week – Orthography | lifeofdeb

Leave a Reply

