Monday word of the week – Protean

Protean is a word I found that I wanted to investigate. Although it seemed familiar to me, I couldn’t really remember what it meant. So off I went to look it up.

From Merriam-Webster Dictionary:

Definition of PROTEAN

1
: of or resembling Proteus in having a varied nature or ability to assume different forms
2
: displaying great diversity or variety
Examples of PROTEAN

  1. <a protean actor who is equally comfortable with light comedy and serious drama>

First Known Use of PROTEAN 1598

from Wikipedia

In Greek mythology, Proteus is an early sea-god, one of several deities whom Homer calls the “Old Man of the Sea”. Some who ascribe to him a specific domain call him the god of “elusive sea change,” which suggests the constantly changing nature of the sea or the liquid quality of water in general. He can foretell the future, but he will answer only to someone who is capable of capturing him. From this feature of Proteus comes the adjective protean, with the general meaning of “versatile”, “mutable”, “capable of assuming many forms”. “Protean” has positive connotations of flexibility, versatility and adaptability.

I’m sure I’ll notice this word more often now. It seems like a useful word to know.~Deb~

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday word of the week – Protean

  1. This would be a great inspiration word for a journal page. I like it. 🙂

  2. godzoned (Debbie) says:

    At first I thought you spelt “protein” wrong. LOL
    Well they do sound the same in my mind… Might be hard to speak in a sentence when people are used to the food protein.

Leave a Reply

