A sick dog story

The past 2 weeks have been a bit trying around here. This last week I was sick for several days. I could hardly get out of bed. I practically slept around the clock for 3 1/2 days. And then it was over! Just as quickly as it arrived, it was gone. Which is the best way to be sick I guess. It didn’t linger and it wasn’t painful, I was just completely exhausted!

Perhaps I was just exhausted from dealing with one of my dogs being sick. The week before my little dog Mattie was acting a bit off. At first I thought she was acting a bit persnickety just because I had been out of town for a few days. She doesn’t like it when I am gone and she makes sure I know it whenever I come home from traveling. But it usually only lasts a day or two. This time it lasted longer. She was going out 4 or 5 times a night, which makes for a poor night of sleeping. But she was also needing to pee all the time, and often not even able to make it out to the yard, so she was having accidents in the house. She just couldn’t seem to make it to the door quick enough. She was also drinking a lot of water. And she was just acting not like herself. I thought she might have a urinary tract infection so I took her to the vet to get checked.

Apparently these symptoms are all similar for UTI, leukemia, or diabetes. They ran some tests on her, which of course did not make her very happy. But the tests showed she was diabetic. Apparently it isn’t that unusual for dogs to get diabetes. Canine diabetes has been on the rise in recent years and affects 1 in 160 dogs.  She also was developing cataracts and that can be directly related to the insulin levels.  She had also lost some weight recently and that can also be related to the diabetes. When you are just a little tiny dog, even a pound or two can make a big difference.

The first thing they did was give her an insulin shot to get her back regulated. Her numbers were off the chart, it was a wonder she wasn’t in a diabetic coma!  3 trips to the vet the first day, to spot check her and make sure the insulin was working, which it was. Then a trip to get a prescription filled for insulin and syringes. Then learning how to give Mattie shots. A couple more days of going to the vet for spot checks, and now I’m sure Mattie won’t want to go for a ride in the car anytime soon again. Every time she got in the car the past couple weeks she has had to go and get poked with needles. Poor little thing.

So now she is getting shots twice a day. The big thing is the idea that she can only eat twice a day, 12 hours apart. Absolutely nothing in between. She doesn’t like that at all! And I can’t blame her. It is hard for her to eat enough at one sitting to really fill her up for 12 hours, so she is usually starving by the time her next meal comes. It’s not the shots that she doesn’t like, it is the 12 hrs between meals that makes her upset. She can’t understand why I won’t feed her when she is hungry.

I’m also supposed to draw blood and test it for her regularly but I haven’t had much luck doing that yet. Mattie definitely doesn’t like that part at all and it is a 2-person job to do, so my hubby has to help hold her down and she is having none of that. We are working on being able to do that part ourselves, but for now she will have to go in to the vet periodically to get spot checked.

cute little Mattie

cute little Mattie

Our pets are part of our family, and when they aren’t doing well, it makes us feel miserable right along with them. We are adjusting to the new routine and happy that Mattie is doing much better. She doesn’t really like having her picture taken either, so she is much cuter in person than this photo indicates. 🙂

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, Family, Health & Exercise and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A sick dog story

  1. She is absolutely adorable! Poor thing, to have shots twice a day, that would be hard for humans, not to mention a dog! It’s a great thing that she is better now, and I am sure the diabetes will be under control, but I know it’s hard for all of you.
    And no wonder you got sick, with all that stress and sleepless nights, your body probably couldn’t cope anymore. Sending big hugs to both of you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

