Monday word of the week – miasma

I have been feeling under the weather the last few days. When you are sick you don’t always remember what day it is or what is on your to-do list for the day. So I’m here on Tuesday with your Monday word of the week. 🙂

I ran across the word miasma this week and although I was pretty sure I knew what it meant, it occurred to me that this was not a very common word and that there may be a lot of people who don’t know what it means.

Merriam-Webster Dictionary

miasma

1
: a vaporous exhalation formerly believed to cause disease; also: a heavy vaporous emanation or atmosphere <a miasma of tobacco smoke>
2
: an influence or atmosphere that tends to deplete or corrupt <freed from the miasma of poverty — Sir Arthur Bryant>; also: an atmosphere that obscures : fog

Oxford Dictionary

miasma

Pronunciation: /mɪˈazmə, mʌɪ-/

Definition of miasma

noun (plural miasmas)

literary

  • an unpleasant or unhealthy smell or vapour: a miasma of stale alcohol hung around him

  • an oppressive or unpleasant atmosphere which surrounds or emanates from something: a miasma of despair rose from the black workshops

Derivatives

miasmal

adjective

miasmatic

Pronunciation: /mɪəzˈmatɪk/
adjective

Origin:

mid 17th century: from Greek, literally ‘defilement’, from miainein ‘pollute’

 

I was reading a book that used the word to describe something foul and evil and nasty. It is a word you find in horror novels or science fiction/fantasy novels; where there is a good vs evil theme going on. It’s not used so much in everyday conversation. I challenge you to find a way to use Miasma this week.

~Deb~

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Monday word of the week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday word of the week – miasma

  1. I have heard of this word, but now I know what it means,lol! Get well soon! 🙂

  2. barb allen says:

    Growing up I couldn’t play sports because of miasma, but now I have an inhaler to help me breathe…
    ;0)

Leave a Reply

