Monday Art/Journal Prompt

Are you ready for another Monday Art/Journal Prompt? One of the things I like to do is make a bunch of backgrounds to have on hand. They are then ready to go with whatever I decide to add to them, or I can even cut them up and use them as bits and pieces for other art. Sometimes though, it is still hard to figure out what to put on the backgrounds. Do you have this problem too?

I think that we sometimes become obsessed with the idea that our ‘art journals’ have to be filled with ART or with profound statements and deep personal growth. Those things are all wonderful, but it’s not really necessary all the time. You can just put some everyday stuff in there. It will be OK. Like shopping lists, or to do lists, or receipts, etc. Especially if you add them onto your already painted backgrounds. It will look interesting and fun. Our lives are often quite ordinary and we need to acknowledge that. Besides, this is a great way to practice your hand-writing and lettering that we discussed a few weeks ago. πŸ™‚

I didn’t really get a chance to work on my journal today (or even recently), but I decided it would be fun Β to list the healthy smoothies I have been drinking. It is a recent change I have made, to drink at least one (sometimes two) smoothies every day. I make something different everyday, and they are almost always quite tasty (one or two have been a bit hard to swallow :)).

Here is today’s smoothie recipe (quite tasty):

  • coconut milk
  • pineapple
  • celery
  • broccoli
  • cherries
  • agave nectar

You can’t use very much celery – it is very strong tasting. Sometimes it is way too strong. Although I have found that the pineapple is the best fruit to mask the celery taste. It is interesting to see which fruits and veggies work well together. For the healthiest of smoothies, try to have one fruit for one veggie.Β 

smoothie

Maybe I will try to share a new smoothie recipe now and then. Does anyone care about that? I do feel silly sharing recipes, given that I’m not much of a cook. But I can run a blender!

OK. Back to art journaling. Go ahead and put something ordinary in your art journal today (like my smoothie recipe). What everyday thing can you add?

~Deb~

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art/Journal Prompts, Creativity, Deb Prewitt, Everyday Life, Health & Exercise and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday Art/Journal Prompt

  1. kelly says:

    i would love some of ur favorite smoothie recipes—i am getting a juicer for Christmas—and have no idea where to look for good recipes… HELP

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Hi Kelly, maybe I will share a couple recipes each week. I think once you get started it will be easy for you. Once thing I did notice when looking for recipes on-line, as that a lot of them are not that healthy really, so just be watchful of what ingredients you are using.

      I know the first few smoothies I made, I carefully measured ingredients and followed recipes, but now I just wing it. I know about how much I need to make 1 smoothie for me, or 2 smoothies for me and hubby. And I always add some ice too. I use a blender for mine, but I would love to get a juicer – that opens up all kinds of other possibilities for what you can use.

  2. Sometimes I write simple things, like what I did on that day, or what the weather was like. Just to have something as a memory of that day. It’s amazing how the simplest thing can be so special just because it was written a long time ago. πŸ™‚

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      It is wonderful to look back and see the ordinary things that are in your life. And because you have documented it in some way, the memories will easily come flooding back to you. That is what it is all about I believe.

  3. vegetarian133 says:

    Hi Deb, Yes I like your smoothie recipes, and thank you for the comment. Go to my site and sign up for my Newsletter I always have something new. Thank You!! Marshall http://www.vegetarina-weightlossplan.com

Leave a Reply

