Closet Makeover

I have recently gone through a closet makeover. Apparently I really really needed it.  A number of recent events/epiphanies set this in motion. At least this is how I see it.

  1. I turned 50 (a few years ago, but still it has been a time of reflection).
  2. I changed careers.
  3. I started attending events where there were some well-dressed women.
  4. I lost some weight. (I’ve lost even more weight since my closet makeover! Woo hoo!)

I decided I didn’t want to be this middle-aged, frumpy, boring woman. I was tired of just getting dressed every day. Getting dressed without any thought to the process was just not working for me anymore. I was tired of shopping with no idea of what to shop for. I was tired of shopping for comfort. I felt that my wardrobe was dated, not very functional, and not really representing the image I wanted anymore. It was so entirely random and not much fun.

To be honest, I never really learned about fashion and accessories when I was growing up.  I never have really followed the fashion industry, except peripherally, so I don’t actually know that much about fashion and how to coordinate outfits and how to dress for my body shape and my age, or how to use accessories, or even how to shop for clothes. When I started envisioning changing my wardrobe and my closet, I had no idea where to even start.

So I started by clearing out some of my old clothes. I found I had issues with getting rid of my clothes and shoes (a whole other story there), so this was tough. I went shopping and bought some fun heels and dresses and some silk jackets. But I knew I still didn’t really know what I was doing or how to really wear all these clothes.

I was trying to do it on my own, but not having much luck. How many of us do that? We know we are smart and capable and fully able to learn something and carry it out on our own. However, it is OK to enlist help and pay an expert to help out. This applies to all areas of our lives, not just our wardrobe. 🙂 Hmmm.

I had recently met a woman who does wardrobe consulting (Caryn August of August Consulting). She will come and help you sort through your clothes and shoes and accessories. She will help you toss those clothes that no longer serve you, the faded and worn ones, the dated stuff, the colors that you shouldn’t wear, the styles that don’t really suit you, etc. She will also take you shopping to help you fill in those gaps that you might have in your wardrobe. And she will help you create outfits (complete with shoes, belts, jewelry, scarves) out of what you already have. She takes photos of various outfits so you can remember them all later on (a huge plus!). And she is super good at offering compliments about how good you look. She really knows how to make you feel good about yourself!

Caryn looked fabulous every time I saw her. And I talked to other women who had used her skills and they all raved about her, and of course they looked fabulous too. I wanted to be able to dress in a fabulous way too!!

After she came to help me out of my closet dilemma, I had a huge pile of clothes and shoes and stuff to donate somewhere. So much stuff that didn’t fit, that didn’t coordinate with anything else I had, that was dated or needed repaired. Bleh! I know somebody else can use a lot of it. After all the stuff to donate was cleared out, I found I had a lot of really usable items, and only needed to add a few things to really supplement them, which Karyn helped me select.  And I now know how to put together a number of different outfits that I would never have been able to do before.

It is still a work in progress. I do sometimes still put on those comfortable clothes (hey I can’t wear good stuff to clean house or work in the studio or just hang out at home, can I?). But I have been wearing the cute clothes and wearing complete outfits (a new thing for me) and I feel really good about it. I find that I get more accomplished when I actually look good – which is kind of a weird concept for me, but I find it works. And I have gotten nice compliments about how I look too. My husband has even noticed how I look (bonus!).

I am really glad I did this and I feel so much better about my closet now. And I know better about what to shop for and how to mix and match my clothes. What does your closet say about you?

~Deb~

 

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Deb Prewitt, Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Closet Makeover

  1. Deb that’s a great thing you did! I know what you’re talking about. When my body started to change (I can’t look the same as I did in my twenty’s, right?), I found out that my tight clothes don’t fit me as they used to, and at first it made me sad, but then I found a “What not to wear” show on TV and it was the best thing! I realized that it’s not important to always try to look like a model, but it is important to accept your body as it is and to dress it in a way that compliments your body shape. So, even though it’s a long process because I can’t afford to throw away everything I have and buy new clothes all at once, I started with buying one or two pieces and then replace the old ones. Even a smallest change in shape of clothes can make a huge difference. I still have a lot to replace, but it’s fun now to see the “new me” emerging. 🙂

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      I agree with all of what you say. You age, your body changes, you gain weight, you lose weight (and never in the same places), you have babies, you just change. And then all the fashion stuff….totally over my head. I am happy to look and feel better now.

  2. Juli Heintz says:

    Deb: I’ve noticed you have been wearing clothes & accessories that compliment your inner artist~& they are very cute on you~like the pretty crochet top & jewelry you wore today. Kudos to you for taking steps in the right direction to stay young. You inspire me!

Leave a Reply

