I made it thru the Cleanse!

Whew! I made it through the entire Cleanse! Yippee! This week was the hardest I think. Probably because I was so close to being done. And maybe because my hubby has decided to have an evening snack of toast every night this week. Aagghh. The smell of toast every night was almost more than I could take. That might be the first thing I decide to eat. No maybe pizza. Or maybe a steak and baked potato. No, I know what. Some of my friend Ruth’s famous salsa, which she gave me a jar of this month, only I couldn’t have any so it is just waiting for me to open the jar and dig in. Yummm.

But that isn’t the way I should be thinking. I should be remembering how good I feel with my new and improved diet. How nice it is to be eating healthy every day, and losing weight (a total of 14 pounds – woo hoo), and being healthy in general. I don’t need to eat a bunch of that other stuff. However, that doesn’t mean I can’t indulge once in a while. 🙂

Now my body has reset itself (at least that was the intent of the Cleanse) and feels and looks better. Dr. Junger recommends adding the restricted foods back in one at a time to see if there are any adverse reactions to them. This way you know if you have a sensitivity or even an allergy to particular foods. Lots of people do have sensitivities. I’ve never really felt that I had such sensitivities and certainly no allergies, but you never know I guess. I’m not entirely sure I can add foods back in one at a time and wait for a few days to see if my body reacts. That seems to be tortuous. Well that might be too strong a word, but it seems like it might be more than I can commit to.

What did I learn? I learned that I can do anything that I set my mind to, even if it seems difficult at the onset. I learned that eating healthy on a daily basis is really quite easy to do.   I learned that I am not necessarily hungry even when I think I am. I learned that a glass of water or cup of hot tea will often assuage those hunger pangs. And I learned that making healthy smoothies is a great way to have a meal without having to actually cook (that works for me!).

healthy habits

What are you doing to stay healthy?

~Deb~

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, Health & Exercise and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I made it thru the Cleanse!

  1. Congratulations Deb! That is a great success! I don’t think you needed to loose so much weight, you looked great. But I am sure you look and feel great now! 🙂

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Thanks Sonja. So sweet. I am finally at a target weight I wanted to get to. I’ve lost 35 lbs over the past 3 years. This last little bit was really tough to get done until I did this program. I’d still like to lose a little bit more, but I am happy where I am for now.

  2. Teresa Brost says:

    Nice job Debbie…good for you.

  3. Gracie says:

    What program did you follow? Thanks, and great job!

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Hi Gracie. I was following the book Clean by Dr. Alejandro Junger. It has a lot of information to help you get healthy, not just the food part. But locating and eliminating toxins in your home and work environments. Getting enough sleep and exercise. And keeping some kind of creativity in your daily life. Just giving you a more balanced way of living. The food aspect is just one part of it, even though it is a big part. The book was very informative and quite easy to read.

  4. Cathy Cullis says:

    Hello Deb, just to let you know you are the winner of my blog giveaway – please email me so that I can send the artwork to you – thank you! ccullis at gmail dot com

  5. What a great post. Thoroughly loved reading about your experience with a cleanse. The first day I started my cleanse my daughter had made a chocolate cake. I had willpower. There it sat on the counter near my Master Cleanse ingredients. All I did was take in the smell of the cake. lol I don’t know if I could re-introduce one food at a time and wait a few days. Maybe I would for wheat, dairy, corn, sugar… these are the pretty obvious ones that might be triggers for me. But I would probably choose instead to be more conscious on a daily basis and avoid them as much as possible.

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      I have learned that I am an all or nothing kind of person when it comes to food. For example I would rather have NO cake than have just a tiny sliver of cake. It is also quite difficult to stick to the daily nutritious meals when the rest of the family is less likely to do it with you. But I do my best and I know that the cleanse was really good for me and I will likely do it again. I hope that your cleanse is successful too.

Leave a Reply

