Another week done!

 

Fresh vegetables are important components of a...

Fresh vegetables are important components of a healthy diet. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Well I have finished another week on my diet cleanse. I am following the book Clean by Dr. Alejandro Junger, which was recommended to me by my daughter. The first week was the elimination diet section, where you stop eating a lot of things (like caffeine, dairy, soy, wheat, sugar, etc) and only eat certain things (chicken, fish, whole foods, nuts, etc). The next 3 weeks you are doing the cleanse, where you eat a solid meal for the midday meal, and then liquid meals (smoothies, juices, cold soups) for the other 2 meals. And lots of water. There are a lot of recipes in the book, so that makes it easy to do. Since the menu is so limited, it isn’t hard to figure out what to eat even without the recipes. Even I can figure it out (and you know I’m not much for cooking).

 

So I have done the elimination diet and 2 weeks of the cleanse part. It’s not too difficult as long as I stay home. The hard part is going somewhere (even the grocery store) where there is other food. And of course, the TV commercials are killing me! How can there be so many commercials about food?

 

This week I had a party to go to, which had lots of good food and drinks and cupcakes (groan!), and I was very good and only drank water. A lot of water to keep me from eating anything else! I was really tempted, but I held back and was a good girl. But it was NOT easy to do. Then my son called and invited me and hubby for pizza and beer (another groan!). I told him I couldn’t do it right now. It would have to wait til the cleanse was over. But again, I was a good girl and said no.

 

Now I am onto the last week. Can I make it through to the end? I feel like I might be starting to waver a bit. I just have to keep telling myself that it is only a few more days.

 

It’s not like I am going to give up all these healthy habits that I have now. Far from it. I feel better and look better so I will keep it up. But I want to have pizza or a glass of wine or cupcakes when the occasion arises. Just once in a while!

 

I did lose another pound this week, so that is 10 pounds in all. Yippee! I’m sure if I would have had more time for exercise this week that number would have been more. I also noticed that my joints weren’t creaking so much. I have had the usual ‘snap-crackle-pop’ of my knees, ankles, elbows, etc. just like a lot of people. I figured it was part of aging. But I started noticing this week that I’m hardly creaking at all (just once in a while, rather than all the time). Is that a result of the diet too? If so, that is awesome!

 

All in all, I am pleased with the results and hope to stay with the healthy diet. There is something empowering about going to the grocery store and only having healthy foods in your cart. It makes me feel good to know I am doing the right thing for my health and my body. But I still want ice cream! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

~Deb~

 

 

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Deb Prewitt, Everyday Life, Health & Exercise and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another week done!

  1. I don’t see how an occasional ice cream could be harmful? ๐Ÿ™‚ Or a glass of wine. Just once in a while. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

