Monday Art/Journal Prompt

Time for another Monday Art/Journal prompt. This week I thought we would look at playing with colors that are not in our comfort zone. I know that we all have certain colors and palettes that we use more often than others. These are in our comfort zone. We know we like them, we know how to use them, we know how they work together.

But sometimes it is good to step outside your comfort zone. To use colors (or techniques or mediums, etc) that are not what you are used to doing. It forces your brain to work a bit more, to learn something, to figure out what works and what doesn’t. I challenge myself to do this now and then, and I know it is good for me. Of course, I go right back to my favorite colors again, but I know it is beneficial to my creativity to stretch myself now and then.

My usual favorite colors are all the blues, greens, purples (you see a piece of work in those colors in the corner of the photo below). That is where I usually work. But I tried this orange and red piece. Obviously it is still a work in progress. But there is some nice pattern and depth there, which I really like. It is just hard to know when it is finished when I am working in different colorways. 🙂

by Deb Prewitt

So your challenge is to create a journal page where you use colors that you are not as comfortable with. The ones that you rarely use. The ones that you don’t even like. Give it a go and see what happens. Maybe even try to journal about why you don’t like certain colors. It could be very revealing.

Have fun! See you next week.

~Deb~

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, Art/Journal Prompts, Creativity, In My Studio, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Art/Journal Prompt

  1. Another interesting prompt! Might try it today! 🙂

Leave a Reply

