I’m doing the Clean program!

How many of you have done a cleansing program for your body? I know there are a lot of different programs out there, as well as different schools of thought on whether it is a good thing to do or not.  My daughter has done a particular cleansing program several times and swears by it. It is a way to cleanse your body and your systems in a healthy way.  The program is part of the  book  Clean by Alejandro Junger, MD. The first time she did it, I saw how transformed she was. She lost weight, she had energy, she was happier, and of course healthier. Now she is a pretty healthy-minded individual to begin with, so I was pretty impressed by how much she changed, starting from a place of health and wellness to begin with. I thought I should try it too.

Fast forward another year and I still hadn’t done it. I had talked about doing it, but hadn’t really committed to doing it. I finally purchased the book on my Kindle, figuring it would be easy to read and then get started doing the Clean program. I knew there were a lot of food/drink items that were a definite no-no, but figured it would be OK. I could do it! But then I only started reading the book and didn’t really get very far with it. Sigh.

So I was delaying again. Why????? So we fast forward again, and my daughter was doing the program again (the 3rd time) and I still hadn’t done it even once! Dr. Junger recommends doing the Clean program at least once a year if at all possible. But I was still struggling with what I was giving up! But I should have been thinking about what I was gaining!

You can do a 1-week cleanse, 2-week cleanse, or 3-week cleanse. Of course, then I found out that you also need to do a 1-week elimination program to ease yourself off of a lot of foods that are not part of the program. So now that meant a whole month to do the full program.

Then I was traveling a lot and knew I wouldn’t be able to follow such a strict regimen if I was staying in hotels and having long crazy hours and such. So it got delayed a little bit longer. Excuses and more excuses. I just kept delaying it. Why was I fighting it so much? I wanted to be healthy. I wanted to have a better diet. I know entirely too many people who have health issues that have forced them to make changes in their diets. I don’t have that problem. I can eat anything I want to. But does that mean I should? Why am I afraid to give up the bad stuff? Why am I fighting it? Do I want to be forced to make changes? Or do I want to choose those changes for myself? I want to choose for myself!

I was determined to finish reading the book, embrace the ideology, and start the program. Ah, but what about my husband. He is not particularly fond of giving up all those foods/drinks that he is used to having. To go on a mostly liquid diet for several weeks? And all that good & healthy food?  I wasn’t sure I could convince him to join me. But I really know that will make it easier for both of us, if we do it together. I finally convinced him to at least do part of it. I don’t know if he will get that much benefit out of partially completing it, but maybe he will see how it is helping me and that will give him encouragement. We all know how difficult it is to change bad habits (exercise, diet, smoking, drinking, etc) if those we live with aren’t making the same changes. Support is crucial to success.

So, today I started the elimination diet. I weighed myself so I could gauge the changes. Dr. Junger also recommends taking a photo of yourself – in a leotard or such – so you can see the visible changes at the end of the program. I decided against the photo. Yikes! The first thing I noticed was that I had very few things in my kitchen that were on the YES list, and an awful lot of things that were on the NO list. So first thing I had to make a grocery store run, because there is very little food to eat! I think the hardest part will be giving up coffee every morning. Sigh!

So I will let you know my progress as I go. Wish me luck!

~Deb~

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, Health & Exercise and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m doing the Clean program!

  1. That’s a great thing to do and I admire your will and strength. But giving up coffee – I am not sure I could do that! lol!

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      I’m already not loving the ‘no coffee’ part. I’ve given up caffiene before and the first few days I always have such extreme headaches from the caffeiene withdrawal. I know it will be better in a few days.

  2. I’ve done many cleanses! Good luck! I hope you see excellent results!

  3. Pingback: Finished Week 1 of the Clean Program | lifeofdeb

  4. Pingback: Woo Hoo! Week 2 of the Cleanse is done. | lifeofdeb

  5. Pingback: Another week done! | lifeofdeb

Leave a Reply

