A New Beginning

I know that most of us look at January 1st and the New Year as the time of year we start anew with plans and dreams and ideas – that time of year we organize and declutter and start a new diet. And I agree that January 1st is a good time for those things. But I have always felt that September and the typical start of the school year is when I like to plan for new beginnings.

I remember back to school every year and the excitement and joy of planning for the new year and all the possibilities that were ahead. No matter that each year seemed to be more of the same, I always knew there was a chance of something new and different for me.

We didn’t have much money so back-to-school shopping was pretty minimal, but I always loved my new spiral notebooks and #2 pencils and that fresh box of 16 crayons (I always wished for the box of 64 but that wasn’t in the cards)….and a new pair of shoes and white bobby socks. Not much, but still everything was new and I felt happy to start the new school year.

When my own kids started school, I was reminded of my love for back-to-school all over again. New clothes, new backpacks, new haircuts, new notebooks and pencils and crayons. The things that were needed changed each year, but the feeling remained the same. And when my kids grew up and moved on, I still wanted to enjoy that feeling every September.

school supplies

Every year, I use the back-to-school sales to stock up on items I might use myself. New notebooks and folders, new pens and markers, paperclips and glue sticks, and cute sticky notes (we never had sticky notes when I was a kid!). I also use the time of year to do some planning and organizing for the year ahead. And I clean out some closets and cupboards and throw out some stuff, maybe move some furniture around, repot some plants, clean out the garage, buy new shoes, etc. I find that I am not so good at Spring cleaning in the Spring – but I can do it in the Fall. Weird I know, but that’s the way I am!

cleaning the closets

Do you enjoy back-to-school and the new possibilities ahead? Do you plan out your year now? Do you think about the new beginnings? Or is September just another month to you?

 

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A New Beginning

  1. Diane says:

    Things are a bit different over here in Australia as school actually starts at the end of January. It’s Spring now and I have been doing some spring cleaning. Back to school time means different things depending on what I’m doing with my life. It used to mean it was nearly time for the University or college semester to start, and now it’s when some of my teacher friends head back to work. It’s often when I think about taking those ideas I had for what I wanted to do with the year and start putting them into action.
    September usually means time to start shopping for Christmas, and time to think about what I want to do for my birthday in October. This year we had the supermarkets rolling out fruit mince pies in August! It was crazy how last year the Easter Eggs hit the shelves the day after Christmas!
    Anyhow enough of my ramblings. I’m looking forward to going for a swim in the local saltwater pool by the sea in the next few months.
    From a business perspective September means I should have my Christmas product lines sorted and started on production by now. 🙂

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Hey Diane, I guess I didn’t realize that school started in January in AUST. I think we all assume that things we take for granted are pretty similar everywhere, but they aren’t, are they? If I lived there, I could have my Springs cleaning this time of the year and it actually would be Spring! Cool!
      And yes, this time of year is when most businesses are geared up towards the holidays, which are just around the corner. For me that is the hard part of having my business. It is a challenge for me to think about and plan for something that is still months away.

Leave a Reply

