Monday Art/Journal Prompt

Monday always seems to come so quickly. Perhaps because the weekends always fly by so fast. The rest of the week seems quite normally paced!

This Monday I thought we would look at texture. I love adding texture to pages. You can do this a couple of ways. You can actually add texture – by which I mean add something that has real texture such as fabric or wood or feathers, etc. Or you can add texture by way of using gesso or paint or modeling paste and creating a textured surface, which can then be painted or written on. You can feel the texture of what you have created. You can also add visual texture by using printed papers that give the illusion of texture because of what they depict. Or maybe you add flocked papers. You can also add texture by adding layers or raised bits. I like to add various layers of stuff – it makes you want to peek under the edges to see what is hiding. Or sometimes I add random things that are lying around on my desk such as buttons or sequins or candy wrappers or cardstock cutouts or bits of metal or thread, etc. Once you add them and add something else and add something else, you end up with wonderful texture.

journal page by Linda Mangus

The journal page above was done by my sister. She used photos and buttons and tissue paper and other papers. Very fun and layered with things to touch.

Find some fun ways to add texture to your pages. It will add visual interest as well as tactile interest. What kinds of things can you think of to add texture and layers to your journal?

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, Art/Journal Prompts, Creativity, In My Studio, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Art/Journal Prompt

  1. I like to add papers and fabric and then paint over them. My latest journal page was actually a textured one, and I used some interesting papers, very textural themselves. Now I need to finish that page, lol!

Leave a Reply

