Woo hoo – another giveaway!

I’m doing another Blog Giveaway here. One of my creative groups recently did a Christmas in July gift swap. It seemed like a fun thing to do in the heat of summer. We were to find something in our studios that we weren’t using or didn’t like or that we had too much of…..you get the idea. It had to be something we already had, but were willing to part with. We couldn’t go buy something new.

We all brought something to the group and we had fun swapping and stealing from each other. We all went home with something different and it was a fun activity to do. There was fabric and ink and wool roving and stamps and books and…….fun fun fun!

I came home with a fabulous book. Mixed Media self-portraits by Cate Coulacos Prato. This is such a great book, full of exercises and activities and thought-provoking essays. I love this book! It is full of SO MUCH inspiration.

Mixed-media self-portraits

The thing is, I already have a copy of this book that I love and am using. So I am giving it away to one of you lucky blog followers. So, who wants it?

In order to be in the running to win the book, you must leave a comment here on this post. If you share it on facebook or twitter or your own blog, you can get another chance to win (just leave a post telling me you did it). I want you to share your favorite creative tip or helpful hint. Have fun and good luck! I will pick a winner in a week or so.

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Giveaways, In My Studio, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Woo hoo – another giveaway!

  1. Tifney Morgan says:

    Please please please…….. Please!! I REALLY want to win…. REALLY, I SERIOUSLY want to win….. Did I say “pretty PLEASE”????…….

  2. Who wouldn’t want this book! 🙂 I love it!
    Shared on FB. 🙂

  3. Jada Jones says:

    I would love this book! My favorite helpful tip is that there aren’t any mistakes, just new discoveries trying to get noticed. Thanks for everything, Deb!

  4. Jada Jones says:

    And I just shared this on StumbleUpon!

  5. Beth P says:

    Hi Deb, wowza… that is a great giveaway gift! Thanks for the chance to win it!
    Posted on my FB as well.

    Ummm, a tip – last August being faced with the mother of all garage sales (because we thought we were going to move), my studio took a heavy beating because I sold most of my storage containers from my studio, old dressers etc. because they were inefficient, couldn’t see what was where, studio too small for that shabby chic look with furniture, etc.

    Not having much money for a studio remake I finally gave in and bought the plastic drawers that are clear (from Walmart) in 24″ wide size (3 drawers tall) and 12″ wide (3 drawers tall). The containers are cheapest in the late summer when school is getting ready to start up again…

    Having a love affair with old books and art books, OK, any books (LOL) I have lots and lots of books! I lined a wall first with wooden crates, the kind you can buy at Michaels, Hobby Lobby… put my books into them and then lined up the plastic see-through storage bins on top of the crates.

    Lastly I bought white melamine board you find in home repair stores, had it cut to the proper length to act as a solid top for the containers – thereby making the containers more sturdy and giving myself even more space on top of the containers.

    When I had finished I was shocked at how well it looked. PLUS, I could see where most everything was! This whole thing cost me $239 (which, I didn’t spend all at once because I did one wall, then figured out what I needed for the next wall and went shopping again so the cash layout was spread out over about 6 weeks) and my studio is now functional and cute (the drawer units around school time in the fall come trimmed in cute colors like teal, purple, pink and so on – so I got black and pink trimmed). If you want to see how nice it looks here is the link to my blog http://elisabetpollock.blogspot.com/p/new-studio.html it is a rather wordy post so just scroll through to see the pictures… a picture is worth a thousand words (although you are most welcome to read the post as well)! 😀

    If you are one of those who needs to see what you have otherwise you forget you have it – this is a seriously cute and functional way to get your studio into shape so you can actually be productive with your art! Hope this helps someone else for ideas to get organized if you have to make every little inch count! (My studio is 9′ x 10′)

    Hugs and thanks again for a chance to win this fabulous book!
    Beth P

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Beth your new studio space looks fabulous. I love it when the studio is neat and clean and tidy. It just doesn’t stay that way very long though. 🙂

  6. Katherine S says:

    I agree with Beth, the more that you can have in clear containers, the better. If they are not clear, then having them labeled on the front or stamping or punching the images on the front helps too. My other little tip is that on bottles of sealants or things like Glossy Accents, when you are done using, squeeze one more time so the tip is empty to keep it from clogging. Thanks for the chance to win.

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Clear containers are a must. I have a lot of stuff that isn’t in clear containers and apparently if I can’t see it I don’t use it. 🙂 Good luck and thanks for stopping by.

  7. Terza Ekholm says:

    How can a bibliophile pass up a chance to win a book, especially a cool one like this?

  8. Linda Mangus says:

    Put my name in you never know I guess

  9. Teresa Brost says:

    Ok… put me in the drawing too..even though i don’t ever win!!!! My tip…..don’t worry about doing things “right”….just get going & do something!!

  10. Deb Prewitt says:

    Winner is drawn. The winner according to random.org is Beth P. Congrats Beth. I will be in contact with you for your mailing address.

  11. Pingback: Yay We Have A Winner | lifeofdeb

Leave a Reply

