Monday Art/Journal Prompt

Woo hoo. Time for another art/journaling prompt. I hope you are enjoying these and doing some of them. I’d love it if you shared the types of art journaling you might be creating. Comments make me happy! 🙂

This week’s prompt is to use a technique or product that you haven’t tried before. Go ahead and step outside of your comfort zone and try something new. We all tend to stick to the same old basics that we have known and loved forever, but in order to grow as artists we need to stretch beyond that. It’s OK, it won’t hurt. And it might just be a lot of fun and maybe you will find a new idea to love!

I recently did this. I had heard about PanPastels but hadn’t had a chance to play with them. I’ve never been a big ‘chalk’ lover, so was curious as to how and why these were so different from other chalks. I finally broke down and purchased some. (I do carry some on my Blue Twig Studio website and am currently in the process of adding a lot more colors.) And WOW! These new PanPastels are SO YUMMY! They are really creamy, not very chalky at all. They glide onto your paper so smoothly, and they blend with each other without any effort at all. It is so easy to create something quite beautiful! They are chalks, so you do need to set them with a fixative of some type, but these were so much fun to play with and now I must have even more COLORS!

Journal page using PanPastels by Deb Prewitt

Journal page using PanPastels by Deb Prewitt

I’m not sure you can really see the details of how well these PanPastels worked, but trust me, they were fun. The two pictures here are done using stencils, which makes it even easier to do! I am definitely addicted to these now!

What will you try this week?

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, Art/Journal Prompts, Blue Twig Studio, Creativity, In My Studio, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Art/Journal Prompt

  1. Wow! Deb I love your pages, especially the second one with a tree-like design. I’ve tried many different products, from tempera to watercolor pencils, but there are so many more I wish I could try out. Although, some of my most successful art journal pages were created with simple materials. Maybe I’m more challenged that way. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Monday Art/Journal Prompt | lifeofdeb

Leave a Reply

