Monday Art/Journal Prompt

Welcome to another edition of Monday Art/Journal Prompt. I had a fabulous weekend playing with paint and paper, so today’s prompt is all about playing with paint and paper to make some beautiful backgrounds. Making backgrounds is one of my favorite things to do. No planning or thinking (at least not too much) or expectations. I love that! And the best part – I finally got some time to PLAY!

Fun watercolor/pen page by Deb Prewitt

I enjoy the total randomness of just playing! Just grabbing whatever is at hand and adding it to the page is so much fun! We drug out all kinds of stuff to experiment with. Water color paints, acrylic paints, sprays and stains, stamp pads, stencils, thermofax screens, bubble wrap, sequin waste, chalks, glazes, gesso, gel mediums, and on and on and on. And we just kept adding more and more layers to each page until we had it all built up to a lovely background page.

Paper with acrylics, stencils, bubble wrap, stamps, thermofax, glaze by Deb Prewitt

And now these pages are all ready to be used for journal pages, or cut up and used in collages, or other mixed media pieces, or just to keep as some pretty papers to look at whenever I need some inspiration.

Page with paints, stencils, distress inks, stamps, bubble wrap, glaze by Deb Prewitt

So go make some pretty backgrounds. Try to use as many paints and stencils and layers as you  can to make something completely original and beautiful. And be sure to come back and let us know what you used and how you liked it!

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, Art/Journal Prompts, Creativity, In My Studio, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monday Art/Journal Prompt

  1. Beautiful pages! I’m am working on layering now…very inspiring!

  2. Deb your pages are beautiful! I love the layers and the colors are yum!

  3. Pingback: Monday Art/Journal Prompt | lifeofdeb

Leave a Reply

