Working on the Butterfly Project

I am participating in the Butterflies & Friends fund-raiser project again this year. I had a lot of fun with it last year, so I wanted to do it again. And this year I wouldn’t have all that angst and stress that goes along with doing such a project for the first time. But I have been so busy that I have been procrastinating a bit too much. Now the clock is ticking and time is slipping and I have got to get the work DONE!

I had sanded the butterfly and primed it and put the base coat on. Now I just needed to sketch out the design and start painting! That is my favorite part! I love painting. I wonder why I don’t do more painting on a regular basis? Hmmmm……

Zen in the Garden by Deb Prewitt

Because of my love of Zentangle I did a ZIA (Zentangle Inspired Art) butterfly last year called Zen in the Garden (photo above), which I loved! Since then I have gotten my CZT (Certified Zentangle Teacher) and am now teaching Zentangle. I absolutely wanted to do another ZIA butterfly this year. The challenge was still to create a ZIA but do something completely different from last year. So I chose to just create one pattern and use it overall. I really like how it is coming along. I have one side of the wings finished, now I need to do the other side. And then some touch-up of course. Dropped my brush full of black paint once and it bounced all over the butterfly leaving black paint where it shouldn’t have been. I suppose that sort of thing happens a lot. 🙂

this year’s butterfly in process

I love the Zentangle experience, the notion of mindfulness in the drawing of patterns, the meditative process, the idea that there are no mistakes. I am creating my butterfly using the Zentangle process. Which means no rulers, no templates, no math to make everything exactly even. The pattern is drawn free-hand. There is no taping off the edges to make the lines sharp and perfect. Everything is done slowly and with deliberateness, but completely free-hand. Sometimes the edges aren’t sharp or even, the wings aren’t identical, the paint is thicker in some spaces than others.  This year’s butterfly is titled “Finish Line”.

butterfly wing in process

I wonder if the people who will be buying the butterflies will appreciate the Zentangle process? Ah, but I appreciate it, and that has to matter.  You can find more about Zentangle at www.zentangle.com.

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, Butterfly Project, Community Projects, Creativity, In My Studio, Inspiration, Zentangle and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Working on the Butterfly Project

  1. I love both butterflies, and I love the idea of using zentangles. This years design is absolutely gorgeous! I wish I could do something like that. It looks elegant on the wings, and at the same it’s intricate and eye catching. I am sure people will love your butterfly, and I hope you’ll raise a lot of money this year. 🙂

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Thanks Sonja. This fundraiser does raise a LOT of money every year, so it is nice to be a part of it. The auction last year was a lot of fun. I can’t wait to see everyone’s butterflies and how they look compared to last year. Now I just need to finish it!

  2. Janee says:

    Wow Deb. Your butterflies look very striking! Beautiful work. I can’t wait to see the finished piece. Enjoy!

  3. It’s wonderful to see your art evolve in this totally different direction. . . just like a butterfly!

Leave a Reply

