I am now a CZT

It’s official now. I am a CZT. That is Certified Zentangle â teacher. Yippee!

I just want to say how wonderful Rick Roberts and Maria Thomas of Zentangle.com are. They are inspiring and generous and super nice and creative and…. OK. Enough gushing, right? But truly, they are wonderful people and the community they have created is remarkable. I feel very lucky to be a part of it.

We were in Providence RI at the Hotel Providence for the 8th Zentangle CZT Workshop. The facilities and the area were nice, but to be honest I was too busy to really go exploring. So I will have to go back again someday to really get a feel for Providence. It looked nice on the drive to and from the airport. 🙂

I’m not exactly sure how many of us were there, but I think it was around 70-80 people. We all just felt like we were the best of friends by the end of the workshop. We shared our stories, we shared our Zentangle experiences (lots of people brought examples of their work – which was incredible to see), we laughed a lot, we bonded and made new friends.

I can’t wait to be sharing what I have learned this past week. I’ll leave you with a few photos from the week. This was the pillow on my hotel room bed. Great start to the week.

Pillow on my bed

Here is our first Group Mosaic that we completed the first day. Looks pretty cool, right?

Group mosaic

The hotel bar had black/white coasters with an image of the hotel on them. We all took one and created some Zentangle art on the coasters and gave them to the hotel. They are going to have them framed and hang in the bar. Every one is unique and different, but all started with the Hotel Providence bar coaster.

Hotel Providence Group Tiles

Here I am with some of my new friends.

New friends

Here I am with Rick and Maria. They are the beautiful ones. 🙂

Rick and Maria and me

AND….somehow I managed to be the very lucky winner of the big grand prize of the weekend. A beautiful piece that everyone at the workshop contributed a small piece to. And then it was beautifully framed. WOW. They are shipping it to me, so I don’t have any closeups of the piece, but believe me it is fabulous!

Me with my prize

So there you have it!

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, Creativity, CZT, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I am now a CZT

  1. Juli says:

    Wow! Sounds like a fantastic & fun experience. Congrats on your lst place prize! Juli Heintz

  2. Congratulations Deb! You obviously had a great time, I can see that in your smile. 🙂 Oh, I wish I could be there too! 🙂

  3. Linda Mangus says:

    So was the prize one that you did or one that you won. It looks cool can’t wait to come visit you and see it in person.

  4. Wow, that looks like one hello of a training course. You look like you had an amazing time and I’m so pleased that you won such an amazing prize.

Leave a Reply

