Book of Days Update

I’ve been working on my Book of Days (with Effy Wild – see link to right) and thought I’d share some more pages with you. It is challenging to stay up to date with it, and challenging to work in such a small format all the time, but it is still fun and interesting. I am enjoying working with various mixed media products and techniques and while I may not LOVE every page, I am learning a lot!

One of the options in the group is to follow along with “Life is a Verb” by Patti Digh. If you haven’t read this book, I highly recommend it. This is my second time through the book and I find it quite moving and insightful. Effy is journaling while reading the book, and quite few of us are trying to follow along and create some journal pages as well. This is the spread I did to start the book. I like how it turned out. I listed a few things, but of course this is not a complete list!

journal page by Deb Prewitt

Next I completed a page with my new BOD alias – Blue LaRue. And she’s dancing in the moonlight (one of the items on my list above), which I totally love.  And then a page representing attending My Fair Lady at the Pikes Peak Center, which is a fabulous and fun musical. I especially liked the scene at the Racetrack (which is a very short scene) but one with absolutely stunning costumes and outrageous hats! I LOVE the hats!

journal pages by Deb Prewitt

Then another spread in which I used a butterfly that was already on the page. I just colored it in and added a bit of pizzaz to the page. A bit of journaling on Saturday as it was a super busy day with lots going on. Monday I revisited the word for my BOD – SEEK – and just reminded myself of the word and what it means to me.

journal pages by Deb Prewitt

Ah, Feb 14th, the day of LOVE! Valentines Day! And I received 2 very cute Valentines Day ATCs from a fellow BODer (thanks D.J.) and I added one of them to this spread. Very pink and red and I love it!

journal page by Deb Prewitt

And that’s where I am now. Not quite caught up all the way to today….but at least I’m on the same week. 🙂 Hope you are enjoying the journey with me.

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, BOD 2012, Creativity, Everyday Life, In My Studio, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Book of Days Update

  1. Kristina says:

    Oh my goodness, Deb, when you said Pikes Peak Center, I got so excited! I’m in Colorado, too, in the same town, and following along with BOD, too! And I love the work you’re doing – it’s wonderful!

  2. Kathy King says:

    Wonderful Deb! I love the write up and the pages! Thanks for getting me into my BOD!!!

  3. vicki cook says:

    great post! love your enthusiasm and all of the colorful pages ~ can’t wait to see more!

  4. Birgit says:

    I love love love your BOD…greetings Birgit 🙂

  5. I love your Journal pages! Glad you’re having fun. 🙂

  6. Celeste Collazo says:

    Beautiful pages!

  7. Tricia says:

    I’m glad I found your blog – I’ll have to try to play along with your Mon. prompts! I really like your pages – all of them. I can’t pick a favorite. Each one is unique and great. I have been keeping up with my BODs, but I haven’t gotten any posts up about it yet. I hope to do that soon on my blog – finally got the pics uploaded to my computer. Tried to get the book LIAV, but had trouble ordering – I’ll have to try again – sounds very interesting. Hope you got my happy mail – haven’t ever done that before. I wish there were more hours in a day! LOL! Great connecting with you!
    Blessings,
    Tricia

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Hi Tricia, thanks for stopping by. Sorry you couldn’t get the LIAV book yet, perhaps you could check at your local library? I’ve had mine for awhile, so didn’t have to try to find a copy for this project. Hope to see your BOD soon. I haven’t received your happy mail yet, but I haven’t picked up my mail for a couple of days so perhaps I’ll go check the mailbox today and see if it is there. Love the happy mail. 🙂

Leave a Reply

