Monday Art/Journal Prompt

I know it is late, but it IS still Monday! So I am ready to give you another art/journaling prompt. This week I’d like you to think about and journal about symbolism or icons. It’s not really as scary as you might think it is.

You can create symbols or icons or images that represent yourself or others around you. You can use this symbol as a type of signature on your pages, or perhaps just use the symbol to remind you of a certain person, or a symbol that helps you tune in to your own core self. You can also have numerous symbols or icons to represent someone, perhaps dependent on mood or context.

Here are a couple of exercises you can do. Create a personal list of icons or symbols that you feel resonate with you, and could be used to represent yourself in your work. Things that speak to your heart, that remind you of moments of your life, symbols that say something about who you are, ideas that make you smile. You can write a list, or use pictures to create a collage about these symbols. For example, some of my own symbols include trees, ocean waves, and circles. What are yours?

Then I want you to choose one or two symbols that could be used to represent some of your loved ones (or hated ones if you want). Whenever you want to write or journal or make art for or about a particular person, just use some of those symbols in your work. It will add one more layer of meaning to your work. For example, on the journal page I recently did about my mom here

journal page for my mom by Deb Prewitt

I used a background of music pages, added a dusty pink color, and a rose – as all of those things remind me of my mom. It creates meaning. Another example is for my sister, she loves daisies and they have personal meaning for her, but because I know that about her, whenever I see daisies I think of her and so if I am doing something for or about her, I might add daisies somewhere to create that additional layer of personal meaning. I’m sure you can think of images that would represent your loved ones and thus make your work that much more meaningful.

Take some time this week and list some various symbols and images that can represent yourself and your loved ones.

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art/Journal Prompts, Creativity, In My Studio and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Art/Journal Prompt

  1. Thanks for the inspiration Deb! I love your journal page! 🙂

Leave a Reply

