Working on my Book of Days

The Book of Days 2012 with Effy Wild (see link to the right of the page) is going swimmingly! I am loving the whole Sisterhood group on Facebook and how connected we all feel to each other. There is lots of love and support and camaraderie and sharing, and of course, *glitter* and *happy mail*. What’s not to love?

Without further ado, here are my most recent pages for my BOD. You can read more about BOD here and here.  For this spread I actually did some journaling on several different days. I started with a base of paint, then added some stencils, doodling, torn napkins, and added my journaling on top.  Sorry, the pic is a bit shiny as I used quite a lot of metallic paint. 🙂

journal page by Deb Prewitt

My next page is a Monday spread. Jan 23 was the Chinese New Year, which is the year of the DRAGON, so I had to do a page about that. I did some paint on the background but it was a bit bright, so I toned it down with some white paint. I used a dragon from an old calendar and then added some details and gold paint and black outlining to make it mine. I added some words around the Dragon that I thought were representative of dragons. I stamped some dragonflies around the pages. And just a couple of comments along the edge about what I hope for during this Year of the Dragon.

Year of the dragon journal page by Deb Prewitt

Effy had used Surrender as a prompt for the Monday spread, so I just moved that to Tuesday instead. I drew a tree and added some blue sky and snowflakes to the page. I also tore out a dictionary page with the word surrender on it and added it to my spread. I did some journaling on the page about how hard it is for me to really surrender. That is not what I do well, even though I recognize the importance of it. Obviously I need work on this concept. I chose the tree for my symbol of surrender as I think that trees are remarkably good at surrendering. They withstand all sorts of weather (rain, snow, wind, lightening, heat); they allow birds to nest, animals to claw, kids to climb and build treeforts; if things are in their way (rocks for example) they just grow around the obstacle. They just keep going, no matter what the world throws their way. I want to be a tree!

journal page by Deb Prewitt

The next Monday spread Effy recommended doing some sort of affirmation, and she also thought we could add an envelope to the page and use it in some way. I used tape and paint and stamps for the background. I added my affirmation (you can’t have too many of those) and I added an envie to the page. I think I will add some little notes to myself or perhaps some happy mail bits will go in there. I like having a tiny pocket on the page.

affirmation journal page by Deb Prewitt

February 1st was an important day for me. It was my Mom’s birthday. She would have been 72 years old this year, but she died 3 years ago, so I really miss her. I collaged some music pages on the background as I always remember how much she loved music. She was a beautiful pianist and had a fabulous voice (when she wanted to share). I added some pink paint, but it was a bit dark so I toned it down with some titan buff. I used a photo of my mom from when she was a teenager. I wonder what dreams and hopes she had at that age? I wonder if she was disappointed in how her life turned out? She didn’t always seem happy with her life. I miss her more than I thought I would.

journal page by Deb Prewitt

Feb 2nd we went to a production of “Joe Turner’s Come and Gone” at a local theatre company. I used the program to put on the page and painted the background a black/grey/yellow. I did add some journaling about it, but it is very hard to see on that background. August Wilson always creates the most amazing characters, and this production was no exception. And the actors were incredible! I was most impressed.

journal page by Deb Prewitt

And now I am caught up with my pages. I am not doing a page or even a journaling post for every day. I am doing just what feels right on most days.  I have done a number of different art journals over the last few years, but this is the first one that I am doing front to back in a particular order. I am finding it quite interesting to work this way.

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, BOD 2012, Creativity, In My Studio, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Working on my Book of Days

  1. Jo says:

    I really love hearing the stories and creative process behind the spreads. My fave is your surrender tree so stark against the promising blue sky.

  2. Effy says:

    Really wonderful pages, Deb! xo

  3. Beautiful pages! I love your journal, Deb!

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Thanks Sonja. I am trying out new stuff to see how I like it and working very small. This book is too tiny for me, but I picked it and I wanted to force myself to work smaller to learn about it. Some pages I am happier with than others, but it is fun!

  4. Linda Mangus says:

    I am working on ,my pages. I picked a smaller journal as well. Trying to figure out how to get it on the page now and look right. Will try to take a picture when I am done.

Leave a Reply

