Are you Writing?

Are you a writer? Do you write regularly? Do you want to? Do you need to? Writing can be therapeutic or amazing or insightful or painful or heart-wrenching or …… almost anything! I like writing, as I’ve mentioned before, but am somewhat hesitant to share some of it. It is like every other creative pursuit, we start to second-guess ourselves, compare ourselves, worry about the quality of the work, wonder about our message, etc. and so forth and so on, ad nauseam. Bleh! Why do we do this to ourselves????

My son Eric found this great website devoted to writing. Ficly.com. I know there are many writing blogs and sites out there, but the Ficly.com site is pretty easy to use and a great way to get your feet wet. The premise of the site is to promote your creative writing in small increments. There are minimal constraints such as each story can be only 1,024 characters (which is not a lot), there are categories to post in, and you can write prequels and sequels to other stories, and you can participate in challenges. It’s all very fun and interesting. You can create a pen name to use (to protect your identity) and can post as much as you want.

It seems to me a great way to get your feet wet, and start writing just a small amount regularly. You can get feedback on what you write (which may or may not be what you want to hear), you can see what other writers are working on and how they are using language and metaphor and symbolism. I believe this site can ease you into your creative writing practice, and get some ideas and feedback (using your pen name so it is less painful of course), and get you started on the track to being a full-time writer.

Go check it out and see if Ficly.com is something you would enjoy. I created a page and a pen name, but have not quite yet posted any of my writing. But I will, I promise! My son has been quite busy since he created his profile, which makes me happy, as he has stories to tell. What stories do you have to tell?

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Are you Writing?

  1. Go for it Deb! Writing is a great way to express your self, (you know already I’ve done that before) and if you feel the need to do it, than it’s a right thing to do. I am sure you are very good at it. Maybe you could share something you wrote with us? 🙂

  2. thank you for providing this website information. this is very helpful to me!

  3. AMSDaily says:

    Thanks for sharing the info about ficly.com!

  4. Pingback: Adventures in Creative Writing « Reflections in a Puddle

  5. Hi Deb, my son is a writer too. He writes fantasy. I will certainly let him know about Ficly.com and will use it myself, as I want to do short stories — for now. Thanks for sharing this info. I am so glad I’ve come across your blog!

  6. Thanks for the write up and for the tip and a place to wet our writing hands. Hope to check it up at a convinient time, if there ever will be. I really need writing exercise but I almost don’t have time at all. I go through a lot to write for my blog but I just love it!

  7. Pingback: miscellani.org/blog/ » New

Leave a Reply

