Book of Days update

I am having a lot of fun with the Book of Days 2012 project with Effy Wild. Effy is so generous and sparkly and excited about arting. It is very contagious and the group is growing by leaps and bounds every day. Woo hoo Effy! She is very encouraging to everyone. She shares ideas about what she is doing and what she suggests for us to work on, but it is totally up to each and every one of us how we interpret the work and what we choose to use or disregard. I love it!

Thought I’d post a few pictures of what I have been working on for the BOD. This is my cover, which I shared before. My word for this project is SEEK.  (We are already into the 3rd week of the year, so I’m a bit behind posting pics here on the Blog. I will try to keep it updated a bit more frequently from now on.) I hope you enjoy this year-long project.

BOD cover by Deb Prewitt

We did an inside cover spread saying goodbye to 2011 and hello to 2012. I used 2 pockets with my words for each year and then just wrote a little note about my word on a tag and tucked it in the envelope. There is room to add more notes or bits of wisdom to the pockets if I want.

Inside cover by Deb Prewitt

Our first big spread was a New Years Day spread. I chose a goddess image of Diana. I wanted a strong female image to welcome this year! I’m really pleased with this first page of the year.

Happy New Year 2012 by Deb Prewitt

Then on to the first Monday spread for the year. The idea was looking forward. I made a list of things I was looking forward to this year. (I added the list after I took the photos.)

Monday spread by Deb Prewitt

First week spread. I am working with a very very small book. I know that a lot of the BODers are doing an entire week on this spread. I intended to do that. But after I divided out the spread into my days and started writing and arting on each very tiny bit, I decided I didn’t like that. It was too small and too limiting. And after all, my life is really not that exciting to be able to write something every day. So I started over. I painted over what I had and decided that each tiny page would only hold one day. I would choose a couple of days each week to focus on and have room to play with artsy stuff and maybe add some journaling or such. It would be less crowded on each page. I am much happier now.

Weekly spread by Deb Prewitt

The next Monday spread I used Effy’s mosaic tutorial and added a quote I found which I thought fit in with my word for the year.

Monday spread by Deb Prewitt

The next week’s spread I started with a plan, but as they say, plan’s change. A new baby came into the family, which deserved a whole page herself, so I painted over what I had there and made a cute little pink welcoming page for baby Valkyrie.

Weekly spread by Deb Prewitt

Monday spread with more fun paint and stenciling and words of wisdom!

Monday spread by Deb Prewitt

The journey is AWESOME! And loads of fun too!

Everybody in the group is doing such fantastic work. It is all so varied and different, but all wonderfully creative. I stop by the Facebook group page every day and just ooh and aah over all the work that is posted there. And then Effy is posting these amazing videos for all of us to follow along and get ideas and inspiration from. You can’t ask for any more than that! (It’s not too late to join in the fun. Just look to the right and click on the link.)

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, BOD 2012, Creativity, In My Studio and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Book of Days update

  1. Effy says:

    It’s really fun to see all your pages at once like this Deb! I’m glad you’re having a good time. xo

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      I am having fun. I like the experimental process, even if I am not always happy with the results. I am finding it quite challenging working in such a small book, but that was why I chose it I guess. 🙂

  2. Gorgeous pages Deb! I love your energy! My journal is slowly starting to form. 🙂

  3. Kel says:

    Deb, it’s great to see that you’re making your Book of Days in a way that works for you.
    the BOD journey and community have been a great way to start the year !

  4. It’s lovely–so very colourful and layered

  5. Pingback: Working on my Book of Days | lifeofdeb

Leave a Reply

