52 Play Dates Update

I am also following along with Jane Fox and her 52 Play Dates for 2012. She posts a video with a technique to learn each week and then you go to your studio and play! Super easy and fun and a great way to add some new techniques to your art journaling skills. And just a reminder to PLAY more often! (Play is one of my words for the year after all)

I have been hesitant in the past to share a lot of my work, or works in progress. After all, it is a little bit scary (all right, a LOT scary) to put yourself out there for everyone to see. I’ve only really shared stuff that I was happy with, but I decided that this year I am going to embrace my journey. I will post journal pages or art works, in progress or finished, the good the bad and the ugly, and I will try to NOT be AFRAID! Anyway, the stuff I PLAY with all the time is usually just for me, but I thought maybe other people might like to see that it is OK to just goof around and not be serious and to make mistakes and make hideous art and still in the end manage to find a way to create some work that you are happy with. I believe in the PROCESS, not just the END PRODUCT.

So I hope you enjoy seeing my stuff, my processes, my playing around with products. Sometimes I will share exactly what I am doing, but other times I will just share photos. And I will probably hold my breath that I can take whatever criticism comes my way! It’s OK, I’m a Big Girl! I can take it!

So, to get back to the 52 Play Dates, here are a couple of pages I completed after watching the first 2 videos. The first page was really about using gesso and pastels and magazine pages. Super easy. If you do what she tells you to do. Of course, I ended up mixing up gesso and matte medium (bleh!) but I figured it out and it all worked out in the end. Just didn’t work like Jan said it would. **giggle** This is all about the learning anyway. And making mistakes is part of learning.

The second page was all about using a magazine photo and painting over it to make it your own. I used acrylic paints and I liked how it turned out. I ended up adding more gold around the edges afterwards (because I love the sparkly stuff) but I couldn’t get that picture to load. I am only marginally technically savvy!

Well, those are my first 2 weeks of journal pages from Jan Fox 52 Play Dates. It’s not too late for you to join in the fun. Just click on the link to the right and sign up. And go PLAY!

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in 52 Play Dates, Art Work, Creativity, In My Studio, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 52 Play Dates Update

  1. Teresa Brost says:

    I went back to week 1 for the 52 play dates. Watched weeks1,2,&3 & took a few notes. Not sure when I will be able to get down in the craft room this week. I loved watching her & what she was doing. She explains things really well. Thanks for sharing this post for us. I”m thinking it’s going to be a crafty year! Between hers & yours, we are all going to have a lot of FUN this year.

  2. How did I miss this post?? It is brave to show even the work you are not that happy with, and I must say I am always scared to do that. But when I think about it, we all have pieces we aren’t happy with, or unfinished pieces that we don’t know what to do with, etc. And I must say you make me feel braver to show my work, even if I don’t think it’s ok. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

