Words!

Words! Words! Words! What kinds of words do you read and write? What style speaks to you?

I loved words. I love to sing them and speak them and even now, I must admit, I have fallen into the joy of writing them. – Anne Rice

I have never started a poem yet whose end I knew. Writing a poem is discovering. – Robert Frost

There is creative reading as well as creative writing. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

I am certainly not the writer that these people are, but I do enjoy writing (and reading). I am more of a “state the facts” kind of writer I think. More documentary style than not. But that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy it! Or that it doesn’t have its place….somewhere. I am always working on being more lyrical and creative. I remember a time when I used to write that way, when I was much younger, but I feel like I have lost the knack for it. Perhaps it is still there….just hidden away for now.

My daughter Robyn is a wonderful writer. She has a lyrical way with words that just makes you smile to read – even if she is talking about something mundane and ordinary. Her imagery is beautiful.

My son Eric is a great writer too. He loves words and language and metaphor and knows how to use them! He writes with power and gusto and abandon.

What kind of writer are you? What quotes do you love?

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, Inspiration, Quotes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Words!

  1. I actually wrote a novel, but never did anything with it. It is hidden away in my box with memories. I know it’s not good enough for publishing, and it doesn’t matter. I also wrote poems long time ago. Now, I just love to read. I like to dive into the story and imagine.

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Wow Sonja. A whole novel. I’m impressed. Maybe you are ready to drag it out of hiding and do some editing and get it published! What type of book is it? I always have visions of writing a novel, but I don’t think I can do it. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      I used to write a lot of poetry and short stories too. I still write poetry once in awhile when the muse strikes me.
      But I definitely can read all day and all night long. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. We seem to understand each other when it comes to reading. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I am not interested in publishing because the novel would need many corrections and all the things that are usually done in that area… and I really don’t have the energy now for all that. I dived into all these things I’m doing now, and writing is very time consuming so I can’t do it. I can’t “stretch” any more than I am now. Thank you for encouragement. Maybe I could try to translate some of my poems and show them to you. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

