Self-portrait – Frazzled

I completed this fun self-portrait project recently. I thought I would share how I did it. We played with the initial technique in two different groups I belong to. Basically you start with transparencies and sharpies. Look in the mirror and place the transparency where you can trace your features onto it with the sharpie. This is a little awkward, especially if you wear glasses. You have to squint and look at the mirror and trace the basic lines and shapes of your face and hair. It’s not that easy! Plus then you look at your sketch and think “is this what I really look like?” So you try it again. And yep, that is what you look like. As a group, we weren’t real thrilled with our single images.

So then we got a great idea of using different colored sharpies and making several sketches of our faces and then layering them on top of each other. Ah, now that is much more interesting. And less scary, because now it is funky and not really a picture of us.

We layered our transparencies on top of each other and then printed them off on fabric. Fun fun fun!!!! I took mine home and played. First I used some water-color pencils to color in some of the picture and that was interesting. Then I added some blue and green dyed fibers to needle felt into the hair. Then came some free-motion stitching on the piece.

I had some pieces of some hand-painted and embellished fabric that was leftover from ATCs last month. These seemed perfect to frame the face. Love the colors and the textures. I added a bit of dyed vintage doily to look like a bit of collar or a blouse. Just because.

Self-portrait by Deb Prewitt

I finished it off but it seemed kind of small and lonely all alone. I decided to mount it on a canvas. I got out my very favorite Radiant Rain sprays and daubers   (which are available on the Blue Twig Studio website) and added color to a canvas and then attached the piece to the canvas. Voila! A funky, mixed media self-portrait piece.

~Deb~

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, Blue Twig Studio, Creativity, In My Studio and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Self-portrait – Frazzled

  1. Kristine says:

    Dear Deb ~ I found this post very interesting ~ I am wondering who led this self portrait technique ~ Very different , very unique ~ Glad I subscribed to your blog by email ~ I am really enjoying your style of writing! Happy New Year!
    ~Kristine

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Hi Kristine, the original technique is just using the mirror and the transparencies, which our group got the instructions out of the book “Mixed-Media self-portraits” by Cate Coulacos Prato. It was just a way to get you to look at your own face as lines and shapes and not be so afraid. Then a member of our group decided to start printing some of them onto fabric and she shared that with us. Then we just experimented with layering and such and I took my piece and created my self-portrait “Frazzled”. I’ve not yet seen what the other members in the group have done with their pieces.

  2. This is so fun and inspiring! I love what you did Deb!

  3. annie! says:

    What a great piece! I love how it turned out and that you carried the collar onto the canvas. I was in a group several years ago and we did a somewhat similar project. If you want to take a look/see at my completed piece…it’s here…http://bohemiannieart.blogspot.com/2011/06/i-i-i-me-me-mine-another-art-book-all.html. I didn’t like my self-portrait either until I jazzed it up a bit! Thanks for visiting my blog! My reply to you…posted there…

    Thank you so much Deb! I made the same type of comment to another friend about the beautiful community I find in BOD. It’s awesome and so inspiring. So glad you stopped by!

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Hi Annie! Thanks for stopping by. I did find that once I quit looking at it as being a self-portrait and started looking at it as just a fun piece of art, I had more interest in it.

  4. Cate Prato says:

    I love how you took the original concept and then made it your own!

Leave a Reply

