Monday Art/Journal Prompt

I’m excited for 2012 to be here. I love the start of a new year and everything that goes into getting ready for it and looking forward. Woo Hoo! Are you ready?

For 2012 I decided for the Monday challenge days, I would do some type of art or journaling prompt. Nothing too complex or threatening, of course, I don’t want to scare people away! My plan for 2012 is to PLAY more and spend more time being creative. And I know a lot of you would like to do that as well. But I know that sometimes just getting started or having some kind of springboard idea to inspire you is the tough part. So Mondays will be your time to check in for some art and journaling prompts. I will mix it up a bit. Sometimes journaling ideas and other times art ideas. You can interpret these prompts any way you like to.

For those of you who like to write you can get out your favorite pen and paper and start writing, exploring the ideas that pop into your head from the journal prompt. For those of you who are not so thrilled with writing, you can get out your paints and your stencils and your bits and pieces and create something more visual. For the over-achievers out there, you can combine both options! There is NO wrong way here. I just want everyone to play and create as much as possible this year and to HAVE FUN!

Your Monday Art/Journal Prompt for this beginning week of the New Year is: create a journal page using your chosen Word of the Year! What? You don’t have a word of the year yet? Well you still have time to decide. You can read more about it here or here. I have 2 words this year (for 2 different projects). PLAY and SEEK. They go together nicely, don’t you think? Lots of opportunity for me to write and color and paint and sketch and……

Here are my 2 journal covers I started. They aren’t complete yet, but at least they are started!

Play Journal Cover

 

Seek Journal Cover

So choose a Word of the Year for 2012. Find a word that speaks to you somehow or embodies something you would like to work on or focus on this year. It can be anything at all. The hard part is picking only one word. Hmmm….maybe you could pick a new word each month? Or each week? Or each day?…..how much fun would that be? A new word every day and a piece of art in your journal to go with it. Sounds fabulous.

So many ideas out there! Once you pick your word (or words), then spend a little time thinking about it and focusing on it and use that to create your journaling page. You might also decide to choose a phrase or quote, if you can’t find just one word to use. Anything works!

What word are you using? What are you creating? I’d love to hear about what you are doing. If you want to email me a photo of your project I will add them in to a future blog post. Or maybe I need to set up a Flickr account for you to share on? What do you think?

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art/Journal Prompts, Challenges, Creativity, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Monday Art/Journal Prompt

  1. Teresa Brost says:

    I’m really gonna work hard this year to do each post every week..thanks Debbie.

  2. Maybe I could choose a color instead of a word? That would be interesting. Thanks for the inspiration Deb! I love your energy!

  3. Jo says:

    I love your journal cover and the use of the leaf – so pretty. My word of the year is Receive and I’ve been art journalling about it my Book of Days (which is how I came across your blog!).

  4. causnfx says:

    I really like your seek cover. My inspiration I’ve been working on is creating one collage a day for the month of Jan. Keep up inspiring others to be creative.

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      One collage a day is an awesome way to start the new year. I’m trying to figure out where to find more time to do all these great project ideas that I see around. 🙂

Leave a Reply

