Reflections on 2011

reflections

I generally don’t like New Years Resolutions. I used to make a list every year, and usually I didn’t get those things done. So I would feel like a failure!  But what I do like to do is reflect and recognize the previous year’s accomplishments. Sometimes we do a lot more than we think we do. Maybe we don’t complete our New Years Resolutions but there are plenty of other things we do get done. I just think it is silly to base our year on whether or not we managed to fulfil our list from last year.

Here are some of my highlights from 2011:

  1. I really got more involved with some of my artistic groups and guilds. Doing more projects and field trips and just participating regularly. It is so nice to be surrounded by other creative people.
  2. Saw a number of live Theatre productions last year. Some were absolutely fabulous, some were hysterically funny, some were intense, some were downright odd. But all were entertaining.
  3. Took a wonderful workshop with Patty Hawkins (with my friends Ruth and Kathy) and really learned a lot from her. I even (eventually) completed the piece I started while I was there.
  4. Took another workshop with Anne Johnston (with my friends Liz and Chris) and made lots of great hand-dyed fabrics. So much to learn about dyeing fabric!
  5. Participated in the Butterflies and Friends fundraiser event. A little intimidating but so worth it! I’m already thinking of ideas for next year.
  6. Got my new website Blue Twig Studio up and running and started another new blog for the website. WOW! What a lot of work to do such a thing, but I love it!
  7. I taught some classes this year and had a lot of fun doing that. I hope to do more teaching.
  8. Went to Chicago for CHA Market. My friend Liz went with me and we had a great time, even if it was SO HOT AND HUMID!
  9. Participated in the Textile Evolution Retreat again this year. I even managed to convince both of my sisters to join me and we had a blast!
  10. Went to Houston Quilt Market with Liz and Ruth. Even managed to squeeze in an afternoon visiting Galveston.
  11. Created an entire ‘Blue Twig Studio store’ in my basement, complete with shelves and tables and shopping and room for demos and classes. And I have had a couple of Open Houses already! Woo hoo!

Those are just the highlights of the year. What a great year it was, and I just know that 2012 will be even better.

When I look at how much I have done this past year (and this is not a complete list) it boggles my mind! WOW. How about you? What did you do this year? I’ll bet it is way more than the little list you made on New Years Day last year.

Share some highlights with us.

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Blue Twig Studio, Butterfly Project, Creativity, Everyday Life, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reflections on 2011

  1. Wow! You really did so much! And there is even more!? Great! 🙂
    I’m not a fan of New Year Resolutions for so many reasons. One of them is that I don’t like to start a New Year with “jobs” for my self, I prefer to wait and see what new wonders the year will bring me. Maybe I’m just lazy,lol! But I did some good things. One of the latest was opening my Etsy shop and i’m so excited to see how that goes.
    Happy New Year! 🙂

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      I’m excited for you to have your Etsy shop open. I wish you all the luck with it. Please let me know how it goes for you. I am considering adding Etsy as well, but I’ve heard conflicting stories about how successful it is.

  2. Linda Mangus says:

    I am glad you invited me and Teresa and that we were able to come to the retreat. I learned a lot and had a blast.

Leave a Reply

