Book of Days 2012

I am participating in the Book of Days 2012 with Effy Wild at WildPreciousLife  (because you know I don’t have enough to do). Effy is a lot of fun and there is a huge group of people who are participating so it should be quite exciting. I am really looking forward to seeing what everyone is doing.

Everyone is making their book covers and picking their words for the year. As some of you may know, I already have picked a word for the year – PLAY – and have a great journal all ready to go to explore that word during the coming year. But I really wanted to pick another word and another journal for this project. Something specifically to be used for the Book of Days 2012.

I kind of got bogged down with picking a new word. There are so many words that I could pick! Did I want a noun or a verb? Maybe I wanted a phrase or quote? I started thinking about words right away. A few came to mind and I analyzed each one to see what felt right. Then when I thought I had decided on a word, a few more words started appearing and saying ‘pick me pick me’. So I needed more thinking about it. Why is it so hard? (Note to self: see last year’s word – FOCUS!) Deep breath. Relax. The word will reveal itself.

And it did. So here is my word for the Book of Days. SEEK

SEEK

And here is my journal cover. It may not be 100% done yet. I’ve not decided. But I like.

Book of Days cover

Front cover

Back cover

I hope you follow along on this journey with me. I will post regularly about my progress with the journal throughout the upcoming year. Everyone in the group is so inspiring and supportive that I can’t wait to get started.  Many of them will be posting about their journey as well and I will try to add some links regularly so you can see what some of the others are up to.  Or maybe you want to join the group too? Just click on the BOD 2012 icon to the right.

What is your word for the year?

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, BOD 2012, Creativity, Everyday Life, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Book of Days 2012

  1. Linda says:

    Wonderful book cover!

  2. I love the cover, and can’t wait to see your progress! 🙂

  3. Laurie says:

    This is so pretty, Deb! I love the use of leaves and the colors are so soothing yet have a sense of energy too! This IS going to be such a fun adventure and I think it will really help me get over the intimidation I feel about my desire to create/play/experiement more vs my fear of not doing it “right” or not being “perfect”! I have a plethora of pretty new art supplies just waiting to break out of their packages and play! Looking forward to watching everyones creativity unfold and explode in our BOD’s!

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Hi Laurie, thanks for stopping by. This IS going to be a fun adventure, isn’t it? I used to feel the need for the ‘perfect’ work (and still do at times), but I have learned that first of all, there is no such thing as ‘perfect’, second is who decides what is ‘perfect’, and third it is more about the process than the end result for me. I decided that I just need to have fun, and you can’t have fun if you are stressing about it all.

  4. Pingback: New Blog | New Year | Looking Towards JOY in 2012 « Dancing for Joy

  5. last_lines says:

    Seek was my word in 2011…It is a very powerful word!
    Good Luck with your Book of Days…
    Lovely to meet another journaller 🙂
    – Kim

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Thanks for stopping by Kim. I am looking forward to the word SEEK. I actually went through a whole list of words trying to find the exact right one, and this one seemed to speak to me the most.

  6. iHanna says:

    Sounds like a great idea for the new year! Lots of art journaling – yay! 😉 Haven’t made up my mind on a word yet… but I’m thinking about it.

    Happy New Year!

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      I found that there were entirely too many words that I wanted to use. I will probably end up using those words as the basis of pages in my Book of Days. That way they get used, but not as the focus word.

  7. Pingback: 2012 ~ I CHOOSE to DANCE for JOY…What do you choose for 2012? « Wrestling the Muse

  8. Pingback: Book of Days update | lifeofdeb

  9. Pingback: Working on my Book of Days | lifeofdeb

  10. Pingback: 2012 ~ I CHOOSE to DANCE for JOY…What do you choose for 2012? | Kim Koning

Leave a Reply

