Saying goodbye!

I just finished reading a book series and now I am sad and lonely! I don’t know about you, but I get very attached to the characters and storylines and the writing style as well. Which is why I like to read series of books so I don’t have the say goodbye as quickly. The more books the better! But when I am finished with a series then I just have this huge letdown. Especially if it seems like the story could keep going on, because then I am always wondering if there might be another book coming along…..

Avaryan Rising by Judith Tarr

Avaryan Resplendent by Judith Tarr

These are the book series I just finished. I love the style of Judith Tarr and have read quite a few of her books. The Avaryan series is my favorite of her books. There are 6 books in all, which have been compiled into 2 volumes (shown above). It’s nice to have all the books together, however that makes for some heavy books!

The Avaryan series follows the Sun God’s children through the generations. It is a magical fantasy series, full of power intrigues, mages, kingdoms, empires, politics, love and war. How could you not love it? It has everything!

Alas, I have now finished reading them (this is my second time through because I loved them so much the first time) and have to say good-bye…..perhaps I can read them for a third time? No, not yet. But I do need to find some new characters to attach myself to. I wonder what they will be like?

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Saying goodbye!

  1. I know exactly what you mean! Whether I’m reading or writing, the end of the story is always sad because you have to say farewells to the people you’ve been with for what seems to be a very long time. At least with writing, you can edit for months and still be around them.

  2. I’ll have to look for Judith Tarr’s book because it’s just the thing I’m into right now! I just hope we have them here in Serbia. I feel the same way as you do, always get so attached to characters that sometimes I can’t start a new book for a month! When I finished reading George Martin’s books (starting with “The game of thrones”) I felt so sad that I have to wait till spring 2012 for the last book! It is really hard to focus on other books, but I found a way – start reading something completely different, like Dickens for example, who is another favorite of mine, but completely different genre. But if G. Martin could write a thousand more books, I would read only them and nothing else.

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      I hope you can find them there. I would send you mine, but postage for these big books to Serbia is probably quite expensive. I like your idea of reading something completely different after saying goodbye to favorite books. I tend to go the other route. I read more of the same author (since I obviously love their style and characters) or another author in the same genre. I will check out George Martin now too, as I haven’t read any of those books.

  3. Saying goodbye to a set of characters is so hard, and I love your idea of reading a series. When I finished Pillars of the Earth, and again when I read World Without End, I couldn’t bear it when the book was over. I listened to World Without End, and I knew when I put in the 19th CD that I was coming to an end–like Sonjia, I had to wait a while to read another book.

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Quinn, glad I am not the only one who gets so attached. It is hard to say goodbye (which is why I often re-read the same books again and again) but I wouldn’t want to give it up!

  4. I agree…I love the longer historical fiction books….right now I am reading a series on my Kindle Fire….started with a book called The Callahans … I was sick yesterday and laid in bed and read through 3 of the 5 books in the series! LOL… (yes, I read pretty fast)…. I have always loved reading…and really get into the books! I always get sad as I approach the end of a series….and always want more!

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Wow. 3 of 5 books in a day. You are quick! I sometimes pick books based on how long they are or how many books are in the series. Silly I know. But I do want to be attached to the book and the characters. Even though I am sad at the end. Thanks for visiting.

  5. I am totally in agreeance with you here. A good book and it’s characters can become like friends, and finishing is like a ‘farewell forever’. Sephen King’s ‘The Gunslinger’ series was like that for me. I have also read the series twice and felt the same emotions the second time round. Meet you back at BOD 🙂

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      Hi Karen, Yes I loved the gunslinger series too. I am thinking of rereading it again as I hear they are making a series of movies out of it. Not sure I will see the movies, as I am usually disappointed in adaptations to film, but I might like to reread it so I can talk about it with people who do see the movie. I am currently rereading the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan. Ah, like having old friends stop by.

Leave a Reply

