Monday Challenge – Clean out your email box!

This is how I read my emails everyday. I briefly look at each of them as they come in and quickly decide one of these things:

  1. Is it something I need to read and respond to now?
  2. Is it junk mail?
  3. Is it work-related?
  4. Is it something I would like to read or should read, but need to have more time or more focus for?
  5. Is it something that I can use in a blog post?

I do have files set up so that I can move stuff around as I need to, in order to go back later to read when I have the time. But I was just looking through one of those files and realized that I hadn’t really been going back and reading all that stuff that I was saving….there were posts that were a year old saved in there for me to read! Yikes! Maybe I didn’t really need to be saving all those emails after all.

So this is your Monday challenge – clean out your email box! Empty all those folders you have that you aren’t reading anyway. Delete all the messages you don’t need anymore (which is probably 90% of them). Empty the deleted files/trash can. Go through your address book and delete those duplicate addresses, or old addresses, or addresses for people you don’t even know! Create groups to help organize your addresses. Create folders to help organize the emails that you DO need to keep. You should treat your email just like your regular mail. Deal with stuff as it comes in, save the important stuff in a file, toss out the junk mail and stuff you don’t need! Come to think of it, my email box is a lot like my desk. Personal mail I read right away, bills I pay, checks I deposit, the rest piles up until I can decide what to do with it. Ha Ha

Ah, now isn’t that a nice feeling to have such a clean email box? Schedule time to do it on a regular basis. If you have more than one email account (which many of us do), you need to follow through with all of them.  Searching through hundreds of emails to find the one that you want only takes up precious time that you could be using for something else more fun. Like playing in the studio!

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Everyday Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday Challenge – Clean out your email box!

  1. It’s interesting to me how differently I treat various things and areas, for example my work table is always a mess, and my closet is always tidy. There is always something on my living room table that shouldn’t be there, and my email box is always nicely organized. My yarn and paints are in order, but my computer desk is never in order. Hmmm…I wonder what that means? 🙂 Your post made me think. I should try to be more organized. 🙂

  2. I have over 100 folders… I respond to what needs my immediate attention right away. Others that can wait when I have a free moment, I put in my today folder. The rest is separated by either client name, or it’s proper niche (e.g. networking, blog material, article material, educational material, log in information, etc.. ) My inbox is no where ever empty. There is always 70 plus emails sitting in it at all times. (70 being on the cleanest side! lol) So I decline your challenge, but will totally acknowledge it is a good one!!! LOL!

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      As long as you know what is what, that is all that matters. And it sounds very organized so that is the main thing. My issue with my own email was that even though I had folders set up for different things, when I started looking through them I had stuff that was so old that it was no longer of value. The key for me, is the folders, but also setting aside time to actually go through them regularly and stay on top of things. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

