December Monthly Challenge – Gratitude

thanks

Ah December. The final month of the year. This year has gone by so quickly for me, that I feel like I may have missed a chunk of it!

Our December challenge is all about giving thanks and expressing gratitude. Yes I know, November is typically the month that we do such things. But I think we need to extend it through the end of the year. This time of year is so hectic and busy and demanding, that we easily start to feel overwhelmed and frazzled by it all. Everyone wants something from us: time, gifts, money, attention, ideas, our famous fudge recipe! AAAGGGGHHHH! We want to do it all, we try to do it all, we absolutely cannot do it all! It frustrates us and we fall into the holiday depression trap.

So everyday this month, I want you to remind yourself of something you are thankful for. Some small thing that brings a smile to your face. Don’t just think about it…..write it down. The act of writing these bits of gratitude down, actually reinforces it in our hearts and our brains. So dig out that journal you are supposed to be writing in, and every day this month, write at least one thing that you are grateful for. If you are particularly stressed, it may just be the fact that the sun was out today. Or maybe you heard a favorite song on the radio. Perhaps you found an extra $20 in your pants pocket!!! It doesn’t matter what it is, it matters that you make note of it, and realize that there are little things everyday that make your life worthwhile. It is a good way to finish out the year. Be grateful!

Today I am grateful that we are getting some much-needed moisture with the snow that is falling. What are you grateful for today?

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December Monthly Challenge – Gratitude

  1. You are so right Deb! There are so many things we should be grateful for, and we often forget…Today I am grateful for time spent with two little girls, my God children, and the laugh we had together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

