What have you done with my Muse?

Sometimes I find that my muse is nowhere to be found. I look everywhere – but she is completely vanished! Perhaps she does double duty somewhere else? Is she your muse too? Are you using her right now? Because I would really like to have her back.

A muse can be defined as someone or something that inspires your creativity – music, art, poetry, etc. Although it really something that is inside of you, a part of who you are, what makes you able to create something unique to you. But I think we like to blame some outside source whenever we are having difficulty creating. It makes us feel better to think that it isn’t really our fault.  And lately I have really struggled with finding my creative muse/self, which is why I am sure she is hiding or she ran away or she is moonlighting for someone else.

What do you do when your muse disappears on you? Do you just dig deep and hope you find something? Do you get out the bottle of wine and drink about it? Do you change directions  and work on something else? Do you write about your creativity and hope that you trigger something? Maybe you go surf the internet and look at what everyone else is working on? Although that often just makes me feel worse! How come their muses are still helping out?

I really hope I can find my Muse soon because it is very depressing to walk into my studio and not be able to find anything that sparks my creativity. Leave a comment below telling me what you do when your Muse disappears on holiday.

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, Everyday Life, In My Studio, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What have you done with my Muse?

  1. causnfx says:

    When my muse disappears I set art projects with boundaries for myself. It’s something I learned while going to California Institute of the Arts. It works so well that it’s an exercise I practice on a regular basis and my muse has not left me since. Right now I am going to start an exercise with the following boundaries: 1) A collage that can only be on a 12 x 12 canvas 2) It has to have an anatomical heart in it. 3) I have to do one a day for 30 days starting and ending in the month of January. I’ll be posting one everyday on my blog. You should try something like this it really works I promise!

  2. I love that idea too! I should try that my self. As you know Deb, I’ve been in that situation ton long ago, and what helped me was to make something small and simple. Also,sometimes I just wait and in the meantime do other “non creative things” like cleaning my studio or my house. Cleaning the studio and reorganizing my art supplies also helps me.

    • lifeofdeb says:

      Sonja, I too tend to tidy up the studio and sort and fold fabric or ribbon, etc. I also start looking through magazines and articles about creating. I work on stuff that is less creative minded, like I’ve been practicing my calligraphy letters. I know the muse comes and goes, but when it goes it always feels like its going to be forever.

  3. katecrimmins says:

    Love the post. I was having a slow couple days. I blamed it on the Thanksgiving meal. Lethargic, no ideas. Last night my muse came back and I banged out a bunch of work. It stayed until about noon today and now I think it’s taking some time off! Next time he returns I am going to try to cage him!

  4. db johnston says:

    If my muse vanishes I usually go for a walk: by the time I get back, my muse has usually mysteriously returned; if not, then a good book and a liberal supply of red wine helps (whether or not the muse returns…)

  5. Pingback: I can sleep when I am dead… « Wrestling the Muse

  6. Pingback: I can sleep when I am dead… | Kim Koning

Leave a Reply

