September Monthly Challenge

I was trying to figure out about this month’s challenge, and trying to remember what the August challenge was. For the life of me, I couldn’t remember what it was. So I went back through my posts, and guess what? I never did the August Monthly Challenge. So, am I relieved that I didn’t really forget what the challenge was since there was no challenge? Or am I worried that I completely forgot to do the August challenge? Hmmm……

So, onto this month’s challenge. With September comes Back To School for most kids. (Although most of our schools started here a couple of weeks ago.) Even though I don’t have any kids at home anymore, I wanted to do something related to the kids going back to school.

Back to School was always my favorite time of year. I loved school. And growing up, we didn’t have much money, but we did get to get new notebooks and pencils and crayons, etc., to be ready for classes.  Mind you, we didn’t get the cute stuff or fun stuff and certainly not anything that wasn’t specifically required. Notebooks were pretty utilitarian, but hey I could draw and color on them and make them my own. There is just something so cool about opening your notebook up to that first crisp clean white page, and sharpening that No.2 yellow pencil for the very first time, and opening up a brand new box of crayons. Aahh. I still love school supplies even if I don’t really have a good reason to buy them for myself anymore.

But we all know how budget cuts affect the schools. Every year the schools have less and less money to actually spend on stuff for the classrooms. Teachers end up spending a lot of their own money to furnish the classroom with supplies they need. Families are asked to provide more and more every year for their kids. And the economy hasn’t been nice to a lot of families either, so it is a struggle to provide all those supplies for the kids, especially if you have several kids in school. And the supply lists get longer and longer every year. I know there are many kids who show up at school with none of the items on the supply list.

For this month’s challenge I want you to try to do something extra for Back to School. If you have the time, you could volunteer at a local school. I know they always need help with something. When my kids were little, I volunteered at the school library. It was fun and I was able to get to know the teachers and students better. It also let my kids know that I thought school was important and that I was willing to volunteer to help out.

Or maybe you can just donate some supplies. Lots of local businesses collect supplies to donate this time of year. I’ve often donated a few things when I’ve seen a drop box.  Or just grab a supply list off the shelves next time you are at the store (they post those lists everywhere) and see what you could help out with. Or maybe you know a family in need and can just help that family out directly. Or ask a school teacher what they might need to get their classes outfitted with supplies. Just ask and then do what you can to help out. Maybe even donate some of the cool, fun stuff.

Education is important. Making sure kids and classrooms have the supplies they need is a responsibility that all of us can help with. Even if we don’t have kids at home anymore. So accept this month’s challenge and find a way to help out with Back to School.

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to September Monthly Challenge

  1. Teresa Brost says:

    Good idea, Debbie. I’m gonna go see what i might be able to do.

Leave a Reply

