Monday Challenge – Clean out a drawer

I think that sometimes we let clutter or messiness start to take over. Piles start accumulating. All the drawers become junk drawers. My husband accuses me of slowly becoming a hoarder. Yikes! Even those of you who are super organized and neat probably have that one spot of trouble that you never quite get around to. So this week’s challenge is both easy and hard.

The easy part is that one little drawer or cupboard doesn’t take that long to clean out and organize. The hard part is that there is a reason we don’t do it. Either we don’t know what to do with whatever is in the drawer, or we don’t want to deal with it, or we don’t think we have the time, or any one of a number of excuses we give ourselves.

Every once in a while I try to tackle a room or two, and am amazed at what sorts of things accumulate. Most of it ends up being trash. Or in the wrong place. Or broken. Bleh!

So take the time this week to tackle one drawer or a cupboard or a shelf or a closet or something. Take everything out of it. Clean it really well. Then sort everything you took out. Don’t just toss everything back in the drawer. Sort it, organize it, throw out what needs to be tossed. I think you will feel better for having done it, and who knows, maybe you will feel inspired to keep going and do even more. I think I will start with my bathroom drawers. They really need it! Where will you start?

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Everyday Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

