Monday Challenge – Take a Nap

I just finished up with the Textile Evolution Retreat. This was such a fabulous experience. This was my second year attending and it was every bit as much fun as the first year. I absolutely love the whole experience and can’t recommend this enough!

One thing that I noticed was how exhausted everyone was by the last day. Everyone needed a nice nap!

There is just so much going on at an event like this. I know that those of you who were there can relate, but also those of you who weren’t there can understand because you have probably attended an event at some point that left you needing some nap-time. I think we are worried that we are going to miss something, so we over-extend ourselves and do too much. This is OK within reason, but we often go past that reasonable stage and push ourselves past our normal limits of endurance. We need to listen to our bodies and remember to pace ourselves and take necessary breaks.

This Retreat had so much going on that we just didn’t want to miss even a moment of it. From early morning coffee to morning journaling to class time to show and tell to ATC sharing to evening demos to mealtimes, there was SO MUCH going on. There were old friends to catch up with and new friends to get to know better. There were the fabulous grounds to walk around and enjoy. There was shopping to do. There were things to share. There was good food and good wine and lots of hugs and much frivolity and the occasional tears. This is what memories are made of. I loved every minute of it. I tried to particpate in everything, and was astounded by all the creativity that was going on. But I was so tired when I came home.

So my Monday Challenge is to take the time to nap if you need it. Or just take a quiet break from all the hoopla that goes into our lives. Don’t feel guilty about it. Your body needs the quiet rest sometimes. We live in a busy world, we have lots of plans, lots of activities, lots of work and play and fun. And especially when we are off to some type of event (like the Retreat, or a business trip, or wedding, or family reunion, or graduation, etc) we really do not want to miss out on anything. Thus we often neglect ourselves. So go Take A Nap today! I give you permission to do so. Let me know how that feels!

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Everyday Life, Health & Exercise, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

