Monday Challenge – Networking

Networking and social media. Everyone is talking about it and writing about it and advising about it. There are helpful blog posts, tutorials to get you started, ideas to improve your experience, companies you can hire to do it all for you…….it’s exhausting!

I have tried to learn a bit about all of it, but there is SO MUCH to learn, and it is changing so fast that by the time you do learn something, it is already dated information. Bleh! I’m not sure I have enough time to study and learn it all.

So the challenge this week is to learn and understand a bit more about all the networking options and social media trends out there. Well, maybe not ALL of them, but check out some of them. I at least know something about most of the main ones. Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, YouTube, Google+, Pinterest, Flickr, Blogs, web sites. But there are so many other niche options out there, depending on what you might need the networking for, that you can go crazy trying to figure them all out. And everyone has an opinion about why this or that social media is better.

What about other networking opportunities? How about the good old-fashioned word of mouth networking? Or handing out business cards? Do you have an elevator speech ready? Do you belong to networking groups/clubs? Can any of these compete with the social media networking?

How many of the social media networking sites are you part of? Which ones do you like? Which ones are easiest to use? Which ones give you the best results? Which ones do you ignore? Which ones are difficult? Which ones do you just not understand? Which are the most valuable for what you need? Are you trying to drive traffic to your website? Or your blog? Are you trying to create a customer/client list? Are you doing research? Do you just like being part of the crowd?

Most of what I do, I am still learning about. I have 2 blogs now and my web-site, which is great! I belong to Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Flickr. Facebook appears to be the easiest to use and so I tend to concentrate my time there. I’m not sure I even understand Twitter or LinkedIn, so I don’t do as much with those. I don’t have a YouTube account, but probably should get one. I do have a Flickr account that was set up quite some time ago, but I always forget to use it. I love my Pinterest account, but am not sure how that is networking, but it is fun and interesting. I am not on Google+, but probably should be. I try to update my website frequently, and post to my blogs regularly. I hand out business cards to people, but need some work on my elevator speech. I don’t belong to the networking clubs but have been considering them. My main focus is driving visitors to my blogs and to my website, so I need to consider the best options for that purpose.

I constantly am reading about this or that benefit for the various networking options. I try to implement what I can when I have the time. But to be honest, a lot of it I don’t understand or don’t see the benefit of. Sometimes it is like trying to learn a foreign language. And it is all so time-consuming that I often wonder if it is a good use of my time, or would my time be better spent elsewhere.

So what do you use and why? And do you understand it or like it? Do you have questions or concerns? Don’t be shy. Share with us and we can work through it together. I know I can use all the help I can get!

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Blue Twig Studio, Challenges, Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

