Monday Challenge – For The Birds

I really enjoy watching all the birds that stop by my yard every day. We have lots of Robins, Finches, Blackbirds, Sparrows, the occasional warbler or dove, and every once in a while a hummingbird. My past few house locations have had a lot of hummingbirds, so it is a bit sad that I don’t have them very often where I am now. I love watching those little birds flitting around the flowers. But I do have a lot of other birds that visit regularly. They eat and squawk and fight and fly about. It is all very entertaining. And somehow calming too.

 

 

Look at these cute little baby robins that are now nesting in my yard. I didn’t even know they were there, but I spotted them one day in my pine tree in the back yard. They don’t move or make a peep if I get close to them, but boy do they set up a racket when their mom shows up. Now that I know they are there, I can spot the mom regularly taking them food, and hear them chirping all the time. So cute!

So this week’s challenge is to take care of those birds. It’s been a couple of months since we all set out our bird feeders and birdbaths for the Spring and Summer months. It’s always so exciting at the beginning of the warmer seasons to get ready for all the birds. We get fresh food and water out for our feathered friends and get excited about seeing what birds stop by to visit.

But after a couple of months, we may start to forget to keep those bird feeders full or to remember to change the water in the bird bath. Or even worse, we forget to clean the feeders and the bath. Bacteria and mold starts to grow quickly, and that can make our bird friends ill, which in turn can then spread illness through the bird population. Which is not good.

So this week go take all of your bird feeders down and scrub them. Clean them thoroughly both inside and outside with a good brush and be sure to rinse them thoroughly and dry them as well. Then refill with fresh bird seed. Do the same for the hummingbird feeders, scrub and rinse and refill. And then tackle the bird baths. Don’t forget to clean up the ground around the bird feeders too.

Your fine feathered friends will love you!

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Everyday Life, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

