Monday Challenge – Find some Water

I love the water – an ocean or lake, even a small pond, a stream or river, a water fountain, a rainstorm – all just soothe me. If I had my way, every vacation I ever took would be where there is water. I wish to retire to a small cottage that is steps away from the ocean. I can sit for hours watching and listening to the waves crash on the shore. I have fond childhood memories of boating and fishing and wading – no oceans for me then, only rivers and streams and lakes – and playing in the rain, swimming in the canals, running through the sprinklers. Although I must admit to not really enjoying the swimming pool and the swimming lessons I took as a child. I much prefer the water in Nature.

waves at Maui

 

The challenge this week is to find some water and enjoy it, let it soothe and comfort you. I know I live in Colorado so there isn’t much water, but I know I can find some. There is a small pond that is close by that I walk past often when I am out walking. It isn’t large, but there are lots of cattails around it, usually many ducks and other birds, and the occasional dog frolicking in the water. I don’t usually stop there, but only notice it in passing, but this week I will take the time to stop for a while and simply enjoy the water. The sun reflecting off the surface, the birds and other wildlife that may be visiting, even the bugs that are no doubt everywhere.  I will pause to reflect on the joy that being near water brings me, the healing aspect of water, the amazement of all that Mother Nature shares.

Perhaps you can find some small bit of water to enjoy as well. Maybe you are near the ocean or a lake or river that you can enjoy (in which case I am very envious). Or perhaps you have a small pond nearby similar to what I have. Or even a fountain or fish pond in your yard that can soothe you. If you have none of those, simply go outside in the rain or turn on the sprinklers and sit and watch the droplets of water hit the lawn. I know if I am stressed or worried, simply being near water calms me and comforts me.

There is power in water and I plan on harnessing some of that power this week. I hope you do too.

 

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Everyday Life, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Challenge – Find some Water

  1. Linda Schwarz says:

    I found water droplets on the iris leaves.

Leave a Reply

