June Monthly Challenge – Learn about your birth year

I’ve been thinking about this for a while now. I think it would be very interesting to go back and learn about the year I was born. Not just the history of the year – who was in charge politically and what were the current events that year – but culturally and socially as well. My parents are both gone, so it’s not like I can just quiz them about it. But even if I could, I still think I would enjoy learning more.

So for the month of June try researching the year you were born, and even narrow it down to the month and day you were born. What was going on in the world? Who were the political leaders? What was the economy like? How about looking at what movies were released that year? Who were the big actors and actresses of the day? What new books came out that year? What authors were popular? What was on TV? What were the popular children’s names? What were the fashion trends that year? What kind of music was popular? Who were the top recording stars? Who were the up and coming new artists? What else can you learn?

Cat on a Hot Tin Roof

Cat on a Hot Tin Roof was released in my birth year. I saw it years ago, but I think I should try to see it again. Maybe rent some of the other movies from that year. And definitely I will look at the books from that year too. Dr. Zhivago was released in 1958. That is one of my all-time favorites!

Do you think that the year you were born matters as to who you become later in life? Are there influences that come from popular cultural standards that mold you even when you are a baby that you aren’t even aware of?

Come back and share some fun facts from your birth year. Did you find out anything surprising?

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

