Monday Challenge – Sit on Your Porch

Ah, another Monday challenge. Sometimes it seems like the weeks just fly by!

This week I’d like to see everyone just sit on your front porch or stoop. If you don’t really have a good place to sit, drag your lawn chairs out to the front yard to sit on. I do have a nice porch to sit on, but rarely do. I’m not exactly sure why, but I aim to correct that.

It seems to me that most of us don’t use our front porches or front yards that often. My husband and I walk our dogs all the time, and rarely see anyone on their porch. Perhaps it is because we all have our nice fenced in private yards with patios and decks and a grill and playground toys for the kids, etc. We feel more comfortable and maybe safer inside our homes and in our backyards.

Growing up in a very very small town, everyone sat on the front steps. You would chat with your neighbors or wave at the cars driving by. People would stop to say hi if they saw you on the porch. I know that when we would go back to visit my folks, my kids always thought that was one of the best parts of visiting. Sitting on the front steps with a glass of ice tea, waving at the neighbors. A simple thing, but something that really appealed to my city kids.

I think this week will be a good time to sit on your porch and reconnect with your community. Watch the kids riding their bikes, say hi to the neighbors walking their dogs, wave at the UPS guy or chat with your mailman. Notice the flow of your neighborhood. Be a part of it. Smile and wave at those you see walking or driving by.  It is an easy task, but one which will make you feel good. And maybe make that connection to your neighbors a little bit stronger.

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Challenge – Sit on Your Porch

  1. Teresa Brost says:

    Well, this is an easy one for me. I always sit on my front porch & wave at the people going by. This has always been a part of who I am,I guess. All my neighbors know every pair of pjs & robes I own.(heehee) The weather is still a little cold here, but I am anxiously awaiting to be able to spend my summer mornings on my front porch.

Leave a Reply

