Week 17 Monday Challenge

I tried to do some puzzles for last week’s challenge. I realized I have been slowly spreading and invading all the space in my house, so I have no empty tabletops to do a jigsaw puzzle on.  Yikes! I’m sure my husband is wondering what is up with me, as I really don’t like having all the surface space piled up, but that is exactly what is going on in my house right now. Guess I better get busy clearing off the tables and counters!

So I decided to do some crossword puzzles. I used to do those every single day, and was somewhat surprised at how difficult it seemed to do them now. I mean, it hasn’t been that long since I was doing them daily, and mostly completing them, but this week was a challenge for me. I had a hard time getting any answers right. Clearly, this falls under the category of “use it or lose it”. So I will try to start doing them more regularly again, and hopefully boost my brain power a bit.

So what is this week’s challenge? I’ve been reading books lately about creativity and embracing your artistic side, and all the related issues and baggage that we all haul around with us. It is amazing how we can sabotage our own creativity, yet be able to encourage and boost our friends or family. I know I do it all the time. Downplay my creativity, assume that nobody likes what I do, that everyone is more creative and skilled than me, etc etc. You know how it is. We doubt ourselves and our abilities. We second-guess ourselves and often wonder why we should continue creating art. We question our artistic talents. And yet, if somebody we know starts spouting those doubts, we jump right in and tell them they are creative, they are artistic, they should keep doing what they are doing. It is “do as I say, not as I do” I guess. Even when we know it is happening, it is difficult to stop ourselves!

So for this week, I want you to write out a daily affirmation about your creativity and your art. Every day! Write something down (if you keep a journal, this is a great place to do this) that is positive and loving and supportive about your art. You don’t need to share these if you don’t want to, as they are very personal, but you should be sure to do them. I’ll give you the first one for today.

Everything you do is creative!

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, Challenges, Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

