Road to Blue Twig Studio

This seems like it has been such a long and drawn out ordeal. Even though I am from an older generation where we learned patience, I sometimes fall prey to that current notion of instant gratification. I WANT IT NOW! So way back when I decided to start this on-line business, I really anticipated it taking only a short amount of time to be up and running. Maybe a few weeks at the most. HA!!! It is months later now, and PERHAPS this next week, the site will be live. I hope so. I am definitely ready for it to get started. To see how it goes and what direction I really need to take with it. My family and friends are all very supportive and helpful and looking forward to seeing it go live. But will anybody else out there care? That is the real question.

However, I have been learning a lot of things along the way. And with all new learning ventures, I am learning how much I didn’t know. WOW. And with every new thing that comes up, I start to second-guess myself and wonder if this is such a good idea after all? Am I in over my head? Have I really thought this through? Do I know what I am doing? Can I make any money at this? Especially with all the money and time I have already invested! Perhaps that is just normal to over think things and wonder about the decisions being made, when you are starting something totally new and unfamiliar.

One thing I have noticed is that every time I drive by some vacant retail space I wonder at the lease rates and whether it would be a good fit for my business and whether I should jot down the phone number and make a call. Just to see. Especially if it looks like some kind of funky artsy kind of place. But no…..I am waiting. We already looked at leases out there and all the numbers, and decided that in this economy that it just wasn’t going to be feasible. YET! So I will see how the on-line store goes, figure out all the details and how it all works, build up my customer base, and carefully evaluate the economy to know when the time will be right to open a brick and mortar store. Eventually. Later. Not now.

So we will be live…..this week? Maybe. I have been doing my training, so I am getting familiar with how the site works and all the options there are. Some of it will have to wait until the site is live, but I have been plugging away. I’ve been working on the newsletter option and the blog option as well, so those will be ready to go as soon as the site is live. I’ve been uploading photos of products and pricing, etc. Which is quite time-consuming I might add. And I’ve realized my little point and shoot camera is really not the best option. So I went and purchased a better camera that will hopefully give much better quality photos. Because the photos are ever so important with e-commerce sites. But for now, I have a lot of photos uploaded, that are OK but not fabulous, and will be studying the new camera I just got today so I can take better photos and then I will get those uploaded, even if it is after the site is live.

I’ll let you know when it is live! Hope to see you all there.

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Blue Twig Studio and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Road to Blue Twig Studio

  1. Linda Mangus says:

    Let us all know when you are live because we want to spread the word for you as well. You can do it and you will be a total success.

Leave a Reply

