Week 14 Monday Challenge

I tried really hard to do last weeks challenge. I did miss one day, but have been trying to spend my 15 minutes a day sitting quietly, meditating, and just being still. I’ve been trying out different rooms in the house to find the best one. I thought my studio would be good since that is my favorite room, however there is just too much going on there, too many distractions, too many projects to work on, so it is very difficult to sit still and quiet. My bedroom is good, it is sunny and warm and quiet, but I don’t have a chair in there. Only the bed and a chest to sit on, so that isn’t working so well either. I found that it isn’t a good idea to lie down for this task as there is a tendency to nap, which isn’t really the same thing as sitting quietly. The music room has a nice comfy chair and works nicely, except that it seems there is always stuff on the chair which needs moved before you can sit there. The living room is the best choice so far, as there are several different chairs to choose from, it is quiet during the day, and no real distractions, and the clock ticks loudly which keeps me from accidentally napping.  Next week I will try out some other rooms in the house, or maybe the patio or front porch will be a good choice. I hope you all have been working on sitting still and quiet.

This week’s challenge is fun and entertaining. I’ve seen this type of challenge done in varying ways, and it can be quite silly to do. The key is to just go with the flow and not think about it too much. And of course, you have to share what you do!

Grab a book off your bookshelf. Why don’t we make this very specific. Find a book with a red cover. Turn to page 13. Write down every 13th word. Then take those words and use them (and only them) to create a short poem. Then share it with the rest of us. It will be fun and entertaining. And don’t try to pick and choose which book you use. Just grab the first red book you see. I’ll post my poem in a bit after I compose it. And remember to have fun!

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 14 Monday Challenge

  1. lifeofdeb says:

    Here is my poem. I had quite a few pronouns so had to work to use them all. And the grammar is a bit off, but that is OK for poetry, right?

    Winthrop should of
    Been a devil
    To wish upon our cross
    Not to fix us his way

    He was cast ‘side
    He’ll ask nothing of you
    Not if you go there

Leave a Reply

