Week 13 Monday Challenge

The lovely Spring weather that was here last week – 70’s on Monday – ended up with snow & rain & fog the last couple days. But I did get outside every single day, as the dogs don’t always understand about icky weather. I also washed my bird feeders and put out fresh bird seed. We have several birds hanging out in the yard now, including one very plump Robin. We also watered the lawn early in the week when it was warm and dry. I know that Spring is here and that means Summer is just around the corner. Aahh.

In my self-discovery group that meets once a month, we usually have tasks or assignments each month. This last month we decided we needed a task of being still & quiet for 15 minutes a day. This seems like a good challenge for the rest of us as well, so that is this weeks challenge.

We live in a world of over-scheduling, multi-tasking, to-do lists, extensive electronic connections, and a mind-set of instant gratification. It’s no wonder that we find it difficult to take 15 minutes of our day to just sit still & be quiet. No TV, no radio, no music, no computer, no books, no magazines, no conversation….you get the idea. Just sit by yourself and breathe quietly. Don’t be planning this weeks schedule or composing that business letter or counting all the tasks that you should be doing instead. Just quiet and still. And alone.

It seems impossible and difficult to do. I tend to fidget, so it is hard to sit still. I am the one who drums her fingers and taps her toes and plays with her hair. I am trying hard to fulfil this task.  It takes practice to manage it. But I know that the peace and quiet, along with the slow and easy breathing will ultimately be beneficial to me.

So find a quiet spot in your house, where you can sit quietly and be still for 15 minutes every day. If you can’t do 15 minutes, try for 10 minutes or even 5 minutes, and eventually work your way up to more time. I believe it will ease some stress in your life and help you clear those cobwebs that accumulate and just make you feel better overall.

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Everyday Life, Health & Exercise and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

