Week 11 Monday Challenge

Sorry, I am running a little late here today, but it is still Monday! Hope everyone learned their new word last week. Mine was ‘praxis’ which means exercise or practice of an art, science, or skill.

I know everyone has been watching and reading about the horrific events in Japan, with the earthquakes, tsunami, nuclear concerns, and the mounting death toll, and we can’t even imagine how to start the clean-up process. I know we all want to do something to help, even if it is just sending out a prayer. It made me think about helping others in general. Do we help out enough? With our families or friends or neighbors? But also helping complete strangers?

There is a lot of struggling going on out there, with lost jobs and tight budgets and escalating health care and gas prices. It is often all we can do to keep ourselves going, let alone think about somebody else. But there is some merit to the idea of ‘paying it forward’ and eventually having it come back to you. Whatever you want to call it – Karma, or Justice, or Getting what you deserve, or What goes around comes around, or the Universe sending a message……well, you get the idea.

This weeks challenge is to ‘Pay it Forward’. It doesn’t have to be much. But just something nice and unexpected that you do for somebody else. Here are a few ideas to help you get started. Buy coffee for the person in line behind you at your local coffee shop. When you shovel the snow off your sidewalk, go over and do the same thing for your neighbor. Offer to babysit a friend’s children so she can have some free time to herself. Leave an extra-large tip for your waitress. I know you can think of many more ideas to pay it forward this week.

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 11 Monday Challenge

  1. Linda Mangus says:

    I was able to pay it forward a lot. I do try to do it no matter what all the time. I feel better always helping others. I went to my neighbors house and organized her kitchen cupboards. She loved it. We had a wonderful visit and it was nice doing a good deed.

Leave a Reply

