Week 10 Monday Challenge

Last week’s challenge was to go outside every day for at least 15 minutes. I know on those severe weather days that can be a tough challenge. Or when you are busy busy busy! How can you possibly have time to just go outside? Most days I get outside to at least take the dogs for a walk. I have found that even when it is chilly (like a couple of days this past week), I don’t really mind it unless the wind is raging, or it gets down close to zero. I can bundle up so that I am not too cold, and if you walk briskly your body temperature will rise to keep you warm. When you get into the rhythm of walking every day, you will find that your body craves the walk. You will get a bit antsy if you aren’t able to have at least a short walk. I know I do.

On to this week’s challenge. Last week we engaged our bodies, so let’s engage our minds this week. I have always loved words and always aced my vocab tests as a child in school. I loved those vocab pages in the Readers Digest, and would quiz myself with them each month.

But I do admit to sometimes being a bit lazy about new words these days. When I am reading a book or news article, or chatting with someone, I notice new words or words that I think I know the meaning of but I’m not entirely sure. I used to always stop and look those words up so that I knew them and understood them, but I have gotten lax about doing that over recent years. It seems that when I come to a word I don’t know, I just sort of move on and try to glean the meaning from the context it is in. A lot of the time you can figure it out. But I do think that complete understanding can be lost if there are words you don’t know or words that you sort of know, or even worse, words that you have given an incorrect meaning to.

This week I challenge all of us to learn at least one new word. Find a random word by opening the dictionary and searching the page. Notice a new word in a book or article you are reading and take the time to look it up and understand it. Ask somebody to recommend a difficult word. Just take the time to learn the word and it’s meaning and how to use it correctly. It would be great if you would post your new word in the comments section so we can all learn even more words! It’s all about Word Power this week!

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Everyday Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 10 Monday Challenge

  1. Linda Mangus says:

    Okay my word I found was harridan–a scolding woman

  2. lifeofdeb says:

    My word was ‘praxis’ – exercise or practice of an art, science, or skill. I just came across it randomly while scanning the dictionary. It seemed like a slang type of word, but there it was.

Leave a Reply

