March Challenge

March really sneaks up on you, doesn’t it? With February being so short, I am often slow to turn the calendar to March. But the weather here is fabulous today. Sunny and blue skies and in the mid 60’s. March certainly isn’t “in like a lion” this year and I am really enjoying it.

Last month’s challenge was to try something new. I hope everyone had fun with it. I tried a great new technique with layers of acrylic paints and rubbing alcohol. It was fun to do and the results are very distressed/deconstructed in appearance. It is also a bit of a surprise to see what you end up with as the results can’t be predicted. It was a great technique to cover up some old collage pieces I had tried that were really disappointing. I hate throwing things away, so I was glad to find this new technique that I could use to cover up the old pieces (that I wasn’t happy with) to create a different background for some new pieces (which I was much happier with).

Well the blog isn’t letting me post my photos for some reason, so I will have to do that later on.

On to this month’s challenge. March is National Craft Month. Did you know that? An entire month devoted to crafting. Wouldn’t it be nice to be able to do something fun and artsy and crafty every single day of the month? Just to celebrate! Just stop for a moment and imagine what you would have to do in order to make this happen. You can do it! You know you want to! You know it will be FUN!

The challenge is to do something creative every single day this month. Enjoy National Craft Month! Get the kids or grandkids or your best friend involved as well. Go to your local arts and crafts store and find a project to do. There are thousands of books and how-tos about everything craft related, from scrapbooking to painting to origami to jewelry making, and things you haven’t even heard of yet. Check out one of the many arts and crafts blogs for some creative inspiration. Check out one of the craft shopping sites like Etsy to see what others are up to. Go to a local craft fair and find some amazing local artists. Get a journal and draw or paint or write in it every day. Drag out your sewing machine and use it. Finish that cross-stitch pattern that you started how many years ago? Learn how to knit! Just have fun and let out your inner crafty self!

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, Challenges, Everyday Life, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to March Challenge

  1. liz kettle says:

    Wow…creative every day…that is a great challange. Tonight I will play with soy wax! Tomorrow the journal…I have been challenging myself to work more in my journal…UNSUCCESSFULLY…now I have your challenge to spur me on…

  2. Sounds like an intense challenge! I will try songwriting and guitar 🙂

  3. its all about moving on, this is what life thought me.

  4. its all about moving on and making something about life in small ways.

  5. Linda Mangus says:

    I have been trying to work on journal pages everyday. This weekend I am going to try and finish several pages that I have started. I am also going to work on some ATC’s and bookmarkers. I think I willalso do some sewing and create another little book.

Leave a Reply

