Week 9 Monday Challenge

Last week’s challenge was to paint something, so I hope everybody gave it a shot. I decided to try to paint a water-color picture. I haven’t really painted pictures for a long time, so I wasn’t hopeful about my results. Painting is like most things – you need to practice to get better. And I haven’t practiced. So I got out my watercolor pad and the watercolor paints and my brushes and cups of water and jumped in. It was fun to do and the result was OK, but I think I need to keep practicing and working more on the details.

water color painting

Anyway, let’s get onto this week’s challenge. Today I had my Moon-Day Yoga class at the MACS and we started the class outside. We all stood outside on the lawn in our bare feet doing some gentle stretches and breathing before we headed indoors to finish the class. Of course, the weather was fabulous today, sunny and in the 60’s. We stood out there on the dry brittle grass in our bare feet, just enjoying the sensations of the crunchy grass on our tender feet, breathing deeply and soaking up the rays. It was interesting to be outside with the rushing traffic noise and people gawking at us, wondering what we were up to.

It got me thinking that we don’t always spend much time outdoors this time of year. For many of us, it is still winter and we don’t think about just hanging out outside, like we do during the warmer months. If you go to a job everyday, most likely you go from your house to your garage to your car and drive to work and park and go inside your office. We spend an inordinate amount of time indoors.

So the challenge for this week is to go outside for at least 15 minutes every single day. If you have a dog, take it out for a walk. If you have kids, take them to a park. If you work in an office, take your lunch break outside. Sit on the front porch and drink your morning cup of coffee. Go for a walk around your neighborhood.  Just figure out ways to go outside and enjoy Mother Nature every day. The fresh air and sunshine (hopefully) will invigorate your day. Don’t forget, Spring is just around the corner.

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, Challenges, Everyday Life, Health & Exercise and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 9 Monday Challenge

  1. Linda Mangus says:

    Nice picture. You are a natural.

Leave a Reply

