Week 7 Monday Challenge

Hey everyone! How was your week? How was last week’s challenge? I tried to more conscientious of saying thank you this week. It really is just an awareness thing, to always be thankful and appreciative. I will try to give thanks wherever it is due, and I hope you will do the same.

For this week’s challenge I thought we should give some awareness to our childhood. To those people and experiences that helped to make us who we are today. To those memories we still carry around that mean something to us.  So all you have to do this week is spend a little time remembering your childhood. Who were your friends? What was your favorite game? What was the name of your pet? What did you dream about? What did you want to be when you grew up? Anything that helps you connect back with your childhood. Do you remember riding bikes? Going fishing with your dad? Sunday dinners at grandma’s? Taking swimming lessons? Your first crush?

Take some time to reflect on who you were as a child. Maybe even write some things down if you feel like it. Then reflect on who you are now. Do you see a connection? Do you feel like you are still truly who you were when you were young? Or are you somebody completely different, and why?

Go ahead and embrace that child! And reflect on what is meant to be you – when you were 6 or 10 or 15 – and what it means to be you now. You might be surprised at what you discover.

I would like to help you get started with this challenge. So I want you to post a comment with one memory from age 10. It can be anything. Maybe your favorite subject in school, or where you went on vacation that summer, or what your bedroom looked like. Anything at all.

I will start. At age 10 I was in the 4th grade. My teacher was Mrs. Smith. She was a great teacher, and everybody always wanted to be in her class. But not only was she a fun teacher to have, she was an artist. She did paintings and drawings! It was just cool to have an artist as a teacher. For Christmas we had a surprise gift for our parents. It was a great secret to keep. She did a pencil drawing of each of us that we were able to give to our parents. We each had to ‘sit’ for our portrait, and she drew us. It was so amazing to watch her capture our images with pencil and paper. I so wanted to be her when I grew up! I never really learned to do portraits very well, but I did learn to love all things artistic and I still love the whole idea of being a creative person. Hmmm, I wonder where that drawing is now?

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, Challenges, Everyday Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 7 Monday Challenge

  1. Teresa Brost says:

    Week 7 challenge.. it was good..It made me think of a family friend & her impact on me growing up. I have always felt that a kid needs to have someone(other than a parent) who just thinks the world of them. That you just fit right in with their own family. I had that in my moms’ friend, Shirley. She always had room for an extra kid..wether it was to go to a movie…take a ride somewhere…sleep over…feed…or even a job that needed to be done. I always felt that she loved me & wanted me around. It has helped me through the years to include other kids in with our family, because I want them to grow up & remember me just like I remember Shirley. I have been blessed with a lot of extra kids in my life who I absolutely adore. They really are like my own. I know that Shirley felt the same way about me!!!!

Leave a Reply

